TEACH MULTIPLICATION EASY

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

image source

Children must learn multiplication tables by heart. When we older people did not have calculators or computers it was not even a question that came to mind, it was a fact. Now children have calculators, but they must not use them before they know at least the first 12 tables by heart.

image source

Why and how?

When doing sums adding, subtracting and division they might know the steps to follow but if they do not know their tables the answer will always be wrong or take a very long time to finish. 

image source

When they start working they cannot stand around adding or multiplying with a calculator all the time as other people will laugh when it is something like 9x7=63, no one wants to feel silly at a job.

image source

But these are for later on. Getting back to children who are small it is very important to get this, into their brain as it stays there till kingdom come. My husband who taught maths for many years always says if you wake a child in the middle of the night and ask them what is 9x7 they must not even think they must say the answer immediately.

image source

I remember at the back of all the writing books in our time they had all the tables printed and we had to cover our books so that we could not see them. 

Courtesy of YouTube

One thing that was very important to him is that anything multiplied by zero = zero. Funny how kids get this long sum and have to multiply with zero and they get such a fright but the answer is always zero. We forget to teach children this. Remember that they have to learn that anything multiplied by one stays the same like 900x1=900

Now how do we start teaching them by the following method? 2-4-6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 So once they know how to count in 2’s we can start by writing down the table: 1x2= 2x2= 2x3= and so on. They can now see that it is by adding two every time. This should be easy; they know that they already know the top part. So now if you say 3x2 they will know it is 6. Now you can start doing it the other way round. _  x2 = 6 and mix them up so they have to know immediately. When they are able to do this without thinking they know their table. This does take some time and a lot of patience but it is worth every second. Children really have to know their tables by heart and the earlier you start the better. I don’t mean one or two years old but by 9 years old they should know them well. 

I hope this was a little usefull to educators and parents.

 

Sort:  

Wonderful post bigbear :) I would have not thought to learn or teach math this way but it makes perfect sense - I am so glad that I follow you and steemiteducation - granddaughter is in 1st grade and I have picked up some useful tips!!! Thank you Friend :) SUNSHINE247

sunsnine247 you have become such a wonderful face to see everyday, thanks for the compliment I was telling my daughter just yesterday what a nice persone you are.

Thank you bigbear!!! I really love seeing your posts - I am on here pretty late at night and it seems that you post pretty late California time - works out perfect for me :) Thank you so much again .. I APPRECIATE YOU :) Sunshine247

Yes I am in South Arfica and post early in the morning. Thank you for coming to my posts.

Thanks for this again @bigbear! I am lucky my eldest picks up on numbers quite easily. They focused on the times table on 2nd grade and he's good up to 10. We'll have to work on 11's and 12's!

Thanks for the youtube links too! 😊

Thank you it is just a pleasure to get such a nice reply. Thank you for reading my posts I am starting to feel maybe I am getting boring with my little ones, but being a grandmother I just love them all.

You have very informative posts. Especially for me who has growing kids.
Thank you!

Wish all parents nowadays can see the importance of memorizing the number bonds and multiplication tables. I had a teacher who made sure we knew this by heart and I will be forever in her debt.

Thank you tanyaschutte, I was laughing yesterday when I wrote this. My son and my daughter and the friend next door were taught these by me. Then I made it a competition between them on who could answer the fastest, we really laughed a lot and enjoyed it tremendously.

Can just imagine what laughs you had back then.

They were such great kids, we did a lot together and had lots of fun.

O I remember how we had to study it off by heart and stand up in class and say it out loud - I teach my little ones this way - count in 2. 3. 4 etc like you said until we are blue in the face - great article. Resteeming

Thank you so much anneke really appreciate your input.

very informative multiplication tricks... really helpful for kids...

Thank you trying my best for the little ones.

MULTIPLICATION EASY basic ! keep it up! and thanks again for following!


@ahlawat

canstock37456559.jpg

ManI wish I had your abilities thanks again for your Future it is really true.

Bigbear, I don't know how I missed this post. I try to keep on top of things but unfortunately some days get so hectic for me. I love this post on multiplications. You brought back so many memories about having to cover the book so we don't look at all of the tables. And of course we didn't have calculators. I remember how we had to say each multiplication table and remember all the different equations. That is why our generation is probably better at mental calculations than the generations after us!!! I also remember the flash cards and drills. Those were the days!!! Again, thank-you for this wonderful post. I'm glad that I checked to see if I missed anything and it looks like I did! Have a very, very happy weekend!.....Cabbagepatch ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97