TEACH CHILDREN TO ADD THE RIGHT WAY.

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

 

image source

Today we are starting with adding, it is important never to teach children to count on their fingers. The reason is that they never get rid of their fingers and will always use them to count.

image source

Adding must be just like multiplication they must learn it by heart. It must be memorised as it is important for later on. Rather use items like bottle tops of cool drink. Give the children 10 each.

image source

Now we can say you have 3 bottle tops at the one side and 7 on the other how many do they have? All this is just to prevent them from using their fingers, but they must learn this by heart like 7+3 = 10 Just remember they must first count their all their bottle tops. Now they know they have ten. Make a game of it and take 4 away and ask them how many they will need to make it ten again.

image source

image source

Let every child have different amount taken away, so they cannot help others with the answer.

I am adding an  video of an excellent  way of teaching adding. 


Sort:  

This is a GREAT one!!!! I love the bottle cap and ice cube tray idea - You have given me such great ideas so far this week - I plan to go shopping this weekend for some of the items you recommend in your posts. I am so excited about getting Avery, the 5 year old learning with some of these great ideas. Thank you so much bigbear!!! Love you Friend .. SUNSHINE247

Thank you, I really hope you enjoy doing some of these with your child it makes me feel so good thinking that maybe there is just one child that can learn something form my post, and seeing your smile everymorning make my day. I love children, but mine are now to grown up, still miss the younger years. I am sure you know my daughter @giantbear, and my son @jacor. They are such wonderful children. Thanks again Love you to friend.

I did not know about @jacor :) I will hop on over to his blog and hit follow :) I will post some pics of Avery utilizing some of your great ideas .. you deserve the credit :) Love you Friend .. SUNSHINE247

Thank you, O I would love to see that.

You really did a great post on adding and showing ways to teach children how to add without using their fingers. I loved the suggested activities because it does reinforce adding in a fun way with fingers. You always do a great job of teaching children. Thank-you for your wonderful post! Have a great day tomorrow! :D

Thank you my dear friend, please read tomorrows post it has 3 you tube videos but please watch the 2nd and 3rd one they really touched my soul. The first one is for kiddies.

Thank-you for telling me about the videos on your next post. I will be sure to watch them! :D

mathematics rule ! keep it up! and thanks again for following!
math new.jpg

Thanks for this, I can not wait for your wonderful way of answering. You really amaze me.

very nice tricks for kids. thanks for sharing again!

Thank you it is my pleasure.

Now I need a baby.jst kidding .I like your video.
Upvoted.read my blog and upvote me. :)) Thanks

You have great ideas for teaching little ones to count. Fingers could be confusing . Bottle caps works. 🐓🐓

you're making steemit a great community with your content bigbear! keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88