Teaching children about MANNERS

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

Well here's a word we don't hear often!

Image source

I was wondering if this word even exists anymore, so I looked it up.  A simple search on Google led me to dictionary.com where I found the following explanations for the word ''manners":

Source

Oh, so it DOES exist!!!

It's something our parents and teachers used to teach us once upon a time, but somehow some of us have outgrown it.  What happened to the custom of saying "Good morning", "Please", "Thank you", "I beg your pardon"?  Isn't this something you miss as much as I do? 

These manners are not something that needs to be taught in schools, but at home.  From a very young age, children must be taught to say please and thank you...I remember it was called "The magic words".

Very recently, I was helping someone with something here on Steemit.  I don't have a lot of Steempower YET and my upvote is worth next-to-nothing, but I tried something else in an effort to be of some help.  Until this day, that person hasn't even thanked me yet.  It's okay, I'm not hung up with such unthankful behavior, but I do not want my children to be like that when they are grown-up, and I'm sure you feel the same way!

So, let's teach them!

1. Decorate your classroom with some basic and colorful "manners posters".  Parents can decorate a room in their house.  Look at these cool ideas:

Image source

2. Make a reward chart for good manners and see how their manners develop daily:

Image source

3. Reward good manners with fun activities, coloring pages or games:

Image source

Display them on the walls to make them feel proud of their accomplishments.  This will also inspire other children to do the same!

4. Incorporate 'manners' into the curriculum by having them write sentences about it for creative writing purposes:

Image source

5. Teach them a song or a poem about manners...this should be interesting and fun, especially for the little ones!

Image source 1 ; Image source 2

No matter how old we get, where we come from, what language we speak, what culture we have, and what our social status is...remember:

Image source

Image source

Sort:  

Awesome post. Manners need to be taught early and practiced through out our lives.

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

You're welcome again. I think I'm gonna take a shower then go eat tacos.

Excellent idea! ;)

What music do you listen to?

Anything NOT Heavy metal

What are your favourite bands?

Linkin Park, Coldplay & Black eyed peas

I love this! In the busy world we live in we try to cut "things" out, but manners shouldn't be one of them! Best way to teach our children manners is to let them learn by example from their parents and educators.

Definitely! They will copy us and do the same. Thank you for your comment @sweetpea!

Congratulations @bdmomuae! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @bdmomuae! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for this post! My school district just completed our first week of school for the new school year. I teach middle school and believe me, I have to question if some of my students ever learned manners in the first place. They have to be reminded and then the "concept" has to be reinforced daily!

It's sad that it has came to this point, but it's up to us now to teach it to them. Good luck with your job and thanks for your comment here.

Thank you as well. Keep up the good work. upvoted and following

I've been looking for ways to teach manners and I stumbled in this post. Very very happy. Thanks for sharing this.

The lack of manners is one of the main reasons why we struggle with kids in our class. Here in Namibia this is especially relevant in our private schools where the parents don't teach there children the basic manners before they enter the school system. One teacher told me a while ago that it takes her the whole first term (We have a three term system), to teach them manners and then she only has two terms to do the curriculum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46