Kids say and do the darndest thingssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

If you're a teacher, you've probably seen and heard some crazy things - perhaps it wasn't crazy at all but rather funny, wonderful, brilliant, cool or even weird.




Source

In the mind of a child, there are just some strange things going on that can't be explained. A good kind of strange!

Innocent, pure and creative

We certainly know that they learn and think differently but that they do not always know how to bring a message across. Because they are still small, they are also still unsure about how to do things, how to say things and it can cause for absolute entertainment sometimes.


Source


Source

While I was teaching some years ago, I was walking to my classroom after recess and there was a little African girl who walked behind me. She came and took my hand, walked beside me and said: "Whooo mam, you are so so beautiful, you have a bum like an African!" - Well that came as a surprise! She was giving me a compliment and I thanked her and giggled along but I spent the rest of the day worrying about the size of my bum! I knew that in their culture, women with big bums are seen as beautiful but in our Western culture, the smaller the bum, the better.

But even as a parent, I've seen and heard things. About a month ago I walked into my living room which I have just cleaned about 10 minutes earlier and it was a MESS. My children had carried all of their toys there and was feeding the dolls water with spoons. I said: "You know what, it just makes me sick to my stomach when I've cleaned a place and then 10 minutes later it looks like that! ". My 6 year old son though about it for a few seconds and then said: "Mommy, if you want to throw up, just do it in the toilet okay." I burst out laughing!

What a way to cheer mommy up!

Yesterday while I was writing my post on Steemit, my husband was keeping the kids busy in the living room. My daughter came to me, turned my head with her tiny little hand to face her and then looked puzzling into my eyes. "What are you doing?" I asked. "Mommy, I'm just checking to see if your eyes are square yet ". " And are they square? " I asked with a serious face. "Not yet, but I think it won't be long! " ... I don't know where she got that from, but it was hilarious!


Source

Isn't it just amazing how their little minds operate?

If you've come across some weird and funny comments or answers as a parent or a teacher, please share them here with us to enjoy.


signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

They are just wonderful, and we do not always know how clever they are.

They are brilliant!
Thanks for reading @bigbear

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bdmomuae from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Kids can be so funny!! Referring to the fart above - we had our son say "intestinal gasses" as an example of a gas in his speech on the 3 phases of matter earlier this year 😆

Yup, I would've done the same. Lol.

This post has received a 0.28 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This is so funny.

I was just thinking about this yesterday how kids can embaress us - very funny - enjoyed it

I'm glad you enjoyed it @anneke. Never a dull moment in our house

A good kind of strange 😀

Haha. We don't get to see it often so better enjoy the little things too. Thanks for reading @billykeed

Lol, brilliant article!! I had a good laugh :D Kids are sooo funny and random sometimes. My son piped up one day saying "I like grapes but only in spring." We were like "Huh, what?" and then just burst out laughing. Completely random and out of the blue. There weren't even grapes there. Anyway, guess it was one of those in the moment things. Ahhh, the joys and pains (cleaning, cleaning, No, No, stop it, cleaning, No)

I don't know where they get these things from. Lol. It just shows how they think and they sure can be amusing when they aren't acting like little hurricanes.

Reminds me of a dear friend who looked after children at an after school in the day care, she kept a special note book of the children expressing themselves verbally.

It was fun to say the least, perhaps that will give you an idea to start a collection, I do not know what happened to that little notebook but it was worth a thousand words @bdmomuae

It should be a good read @joanstewart. I definitely have to start my own notebook!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65687.24
ETH 3269.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69