You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WARNING! Critical Information For New Steemit Users - This Is What They Don't Tell You At Sign Up!!!

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

For me though even with the bandwidth issue I hated a week or so ago, I found out it fluctuates depending on the number of people using it. Right? I read some articles on the bandwidth thing and that's what I found out. They advise you to be wise in commenting/posting and such but it makes me feel sad not to comment on something I think is worth commenting on. This is a social network site after all.

Anyone can correct me if I'm wrong but as far as I know if too many people are on here we can just post when it's off peak so we have enough bandwidth. Or if I want to post during peak hours, I keep checking from time to time on Steemd until my bandwidth is back up again to post or comment. Our bandwidth is not in the negative all the time, it fluctuates as well depending on the activity on the site so you can sneak in some posts as long as you catch that short posting window.

That doesn't factor in the "how to best earn on Steemit part" though. Lol. It's just a tip to be able to post anything even with the bandwidth problem.

Sort:  

Hello and thanks for commenting. You are absolutely correct - this problem only occurs during peak usage and your usage will decrease as posts/comments get older than 7 days. If you look at some of my other replies you'll see that I worked out how much bandwidth a post or comment uses:

After I'd posted this blog I carried on with my investigation and I discovered something: I recorded my usage before and after, and the difference was 3,259 bytes. Then I pasted the post into Word and it showed me the number of characters (without spaces) was 3,259!!! So each character in your post uses 1 bit of bandwidth.

I know what you mean about being sad to not comment and interact with people, and therein lies the answer to your remark how to best earn on Steemit, because it is exactly the action of commenting and interacting that will enable you to earn, and make some great friends and supporters too! Just have patience and enjoy yourself, and try post good quality material, that's my approach.

I wish you all the best and hope to chat again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67190.56
ETH 2617.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67