On Being A Bookworm: I Got Asked A Question After 17 Years

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

Do I really have to do this mommy?!

My eldest, way back 2009.

Making reading a habit. My Lil sis had to do it.


I cannot even begin to say how important reading is. My sister @erangvee has asked today, after 17 years why I had brought her those books when she was just 5 years old.

To be honest, I had no idea where my sister was getting me to. Did she just want me to learn reading early? Did she simply want me to become a bookworm like her (I remember her bedroom then; she always had a thick book beside her pillow)?

I love to read. I am happy to have at least influenced my sister to that habit and boy, look at her now! Follow her writings here on steemit and be amazed. She even had her fanfiction.net account where she authored lots of fanfictions (mostly on animes, so I cannot relate. LOL)

Road to raising book lovers.

My son, after a lot of persuasion at first, now shows great passion to reading. It took me some time but I eventually found out he had lazy eye. Thankfully it is not too late and we consulted an ophthalmologist before any permanent damaged can be made. I blame his lack of interest in reading before to not having a clear eye sight.

Now 8, he loves to discover new things and satiate his curiosity through reading. The two smaller ones, 3.5 and 2 years are already starting to read too. They know the alphabet and phonics, and we are starting with sight words with my middle child.

Books all around!

Our set of Learning Time books.

I have read somewhere before about a father who raised a bookworm kid by surrounding him with books. Thereby, the child did not have any "choice" but to open the books around him, then eventually develop his love for reading too.

Well I do the same to my children. I place books within their reach, so that we can always get inspired to read. It is on the shelf of our bunk bed. Each time we cuddle, we can just easily grab a book of varied topics and read away. For my little master, it does not even have to be "reading". Sometimes, we just cuddle and look at the pictures. There we learn colors, names of things and animals, flags, etc.

Kuya has his "big boy" books on his bedside too. Other books are kept in his bag which he takes to their nanny's house everyday, while the there are lots of other children's books on the shelf of our computer table.

Best in Reading


I remember when I graduated Kindergarten. I had the "Best in Reading" award. I give lots of credits to my mom @lerma, for being patient with me. She made me read newspapers - just anything. Maybe the headlines, or just short paragraphs.

She bought me comics series also. By comics, I do not refer to Archie Comics but to a Filipino Kiddie comics called "Bata Batuta Komiks".

How can I even forget those times when we rent komiks from the nearby convenience store for Php 0.25 per comicbook! I am sure a lot of other 80's kids can relate to this. Haha.



DEAR Time



Oh! How I loved DEAR time in school! We get to read our favorite books. Shhhh.... quiet! I am reading.

After 17 years, my answer is...

Reading is a part of life. It makes life interesting. It takes you to places that you can only imagine. Reading is integral to learning. It gives way to curiosity. It widens your vocabulary. It empowers you.

I can go on and on...

Had my mom not influenced me, had I not given my baby sister those books to read... then you may not be reading from us right now.

So sister dear, aren't you just glad I made you read "Arabian Nights" books series when you were 5 years old?! haha


Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @precise, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

SteemPH banner by @bearone



Sort:  

I think reading awakens that sense of curiosity we all have inside us. I always wanted to know why things were the way they were and books provided some answers.

They also allowed me to travel to far away places I thought I'd never visit. Fostering a love of reading is one of best gifts you can give to your children.


source

Really true. I love the feeling when I immerse myself into the book I am reading- like I am inside it! This, I want my kids and eveyone else to experience too.

Thanks for reading @evernoticethat. 😊

I was very lucky as a boy when we moved into an old house with tons of copies of National Geographic in the basement. Boxes and boxes going back to the early 20th century.

I read about exotic places like Ceylon, Siam and the lure of blank spaces still left on the map. Finding a stash of Soviet Life magazine opened Russia up to me and broadened my horizons about other ways of living. Every time I curled up with one of them I felt like I was on an expedition in my mind. Those were the days! :)

Books can take you all over the world and teach you the best way of life. Goodnight po. X

Really true. 😉

Tulugan na, @sherylneil! 😂

Cutie... But all the books right now is torn! Hahaha...

@arrliinn Such a great article like and shear

That was so nice. Ako tamad magbasa ng libro. :D

Haha. Ako din, over time mejo hindi na ganun kasing sipag nag dati. Hehe

That's what I want to train myself...... being into reading... I keep buying books but haven't continue reading it all... nakakaantok kase sa huli =(

I think it really helps when you have the book around where you can see it. 😉

Maybe never too late for meee, if i'll try it again... hahaha... I only read books that are interesting for me (which is veryyyyy veryyyy veryyyyy seldom!) Or maybe I just really didn't try that hard...

At the same time, I already consider book, specially thick ones, as my sleeping pill... 😵😵😵

But want my future children to be a bookworm tooo... 😍

ang cute ng panganay mo sis! hahaha! ang galing na dahil sa simpleng pagbigay mo ng books sa sister mo, nagstart lahat ng hilig nya sa pagbbasa at pagsulat. Ang daming pwedeng matutunan sa pagbabasa lang ng libro❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50