Why am I so short or so tall? Information for kids

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Maybe you are the shortest kid in class, or maybe the tallest.  Maybe you have some children that are calling you names because you are so short or so tall.

There are a lot of things about ourselves that you can change, like for instance the way you treat others, or learning to eat healthier, or loosing weight or exercising, but certain things we cannot change like for instance the color of our eyes, what we look like and how short or tall we are.

            

image source

The first thing that you need to remember is that all of us grow up eventually.  Not all kids grow at the same pace.  This year you are maybe the tallest in the class, but in a few years most of your friends would catch up to you.

The second thing is that it is in your genes.  You got your genes from your mom and dad which means if they are tall, you will most probably end up tall and if they are very short, the chances are slim that you will grow very tall, but it can happen - nothing is 'set in stone'.  

There is nothing wrong with you, that is just the way you were created and like all things that we cannot change, you need to learn to accept it.

You will go through a few 'growth spurts' during puberty and some kids will stop growing earlier than others.

Your first 'growth spurt' was in the first year of your life - you grew from a tiny baby into a little toddler that started walking and talking.

Now when you go into puberty - and that also differ from child to child when it will happen - you will grow faster again.  You will hear your mom moan a lot saying "But how can those pants be too short, we just bought it 2 months ago."

Boys and girls also grow at different rates and in primary school, when most of the girls are taller than the boys, the boys do catch up in high school.

It does not mean that if your puberty starts later or you start growing when you are older that you will not grow at all - all of these things happen at different paces for each kid.

Nobody can say with certainty how tall you will grow but if you look at your mom and dad, you will roughly have an idea - it can differ and even if your parent are short, you can grow taller than them and the other way round.

A lot of worries can come with your height like you are a girl and much taller than all the boys and you are at a school dance.  You cannot ride on all the rides at the fair because you are too short.  You cannot see what is going on in the front of the class because you are too short.  All these things can worry you.  Once again you always have a choice.  You can either sulk about it the whole time or you can accept that you will never be tall or that you will always be the tallest between your friends.

Even though we would love to have a say in this, we do not have any and the sooner you accept yourself and show people that there is more to you than your length, the sooner it will stop bothering you and anybody else.

Live a healthy live and who knows, before you realize it, you will start growing, but if that does not happen accept that live is filled with tall and short people and that does not determine what great things you can accomplish in your life.

If you need to stand on a chair to see, or duck when you enter through a door, so be it.... do not let things that you cannot change hold you back in life.  

Live to the fullest, no matter what you look like and love yourself and be kind to yourself, because if you do not realize how special you are and are good to yourself, nobody else will.

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

                                             

Please consider writing under the steemiteducation tag. Please see their latest post for the new criteria. Please consider telling your friends and help to promote this account. They are looking for good quality educational posts. It is not only for educators, anyone is welcome. Just read the latest post and join their discord server. Make sure to drop your links in the steemiteducation post promotion section on discord.


Sort:  

In my 30's and still waiting to get taller...

Thanks to @ecoinstant, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you - haahaha no I think the wait is over you will now just have to accept it

I remember we used to measure and compare our heights then.

Yes we always did it at my grandmothers house against the door

Maybe you are the shortest kid in class...
Not maybe, but you are 100 % right..
I was the shortest in my school not in my class..hehe
Wow,,what you said is what I did in my childhood. When I was a student of elementary, I was the shortest in my class, and then continued to be happened till the university.
At first I felt unconfident with my height, I tried to do a lot of exercises to raise my height up like swimming, hanging, jogging, jumping and etc. Its worked, but just a little change. Then I tried to enjoy about my own look. Being positive whatever you are. I could change how the people look at me, no matter how short I was. I had ever been the head of students organization in my secondary school. I got the highest score on national examination. Then I learnt that being the shortest wasn't a problem if I had something special in my mind. But, being the stupidest was the big problem though you were the most handsome and tallest one.
So, enjoy your life and be thankful for what you have by doing all your best.
I m short, I m happy
Thanks for sharing Mrs@anneke
Nice to read your post.

Thank you for reading and your beautiful reply

i believe on the genes, more like we are short or tall because of the family genes. hehe.
i am short from my mom's genes, my brothers are tall from papa's genes. hehe ❤️❤️❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95