The forgotten Punctuation marks - A Story for children

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Once upon a time, in a secret land, just left from the setting sun and underneath the third rainbow was a town called Punctuation Town.

This was a very happy place to be and were filled with all types of punctuation marks.

                                  

image source

There was old Quinton Question mark (?),  Eddy Exclamation mark (!), Filly Fullstop (.), Sammy Semi-colon (;), Ellie Ellips (...), Quincy Quotation marks ("-")  and many many more.

All the residents of this lovely town were very happy, because they were helping people every day.  The more people used them, the happier they got.  

But there were two very lazy punctuation marks called Cole Capital and Cirus Comma - they were always up to mischief and getting in trouble.  They were not bad punctuation marks, but the reason they were lazy was because people forgot to use them, so they did not have a lot to do except get in trouble and upset the other punctuation marks.

                                          

image source

One day, Cole and Cirus were walking down the road when they heard a terrible noise.  They got such a fright that they wanted to run away. 

"What is that?", Cole asked.  "I think  it is coming from the body of that little girl", Cirus said peeking from behind a tree.

On the other side of the road sat a pretty little girl, but out of her eyes came lots of tears and a loud crying sound came from her mouth.

                                     

image source

Cole and Cirus pulled themselves together and decided to go and find out what was wrong with this crying, noise making person.

Sally Wilson looked up and saw the two punctuation marks standing next to her.  She did not recognize them, because she did not use them a lot.

"Why are you crying?", Cole and Cirus ask together, sounding like a choir. 

"I am very unhappy, because my teacher said I cannot be her helper or the class captain for the week because I am not making good sentences.  I really tried my best and I thought I wrote a great sentence."

Cirus took the book from Sally and he read the sentence out loud...

my name is sally.  i like to cook myself and my family.


"That is shocking!!", Cole and Cirus shouted, "how can you do something as aweful as that?"

Sally did not understand why they were so mean and started crying all over again.

Suddenly Cole slapped Cirus on the head and shouted, "It is all our fault that she did not become the teacher's helper!! We are lazy and do not get people to use us and now this little girl is in trouble."

Suddenly everything made sense to Cirus and the two of them promised Sally that they will help her and they will stop being lazy, so that people will remember to use them more often and make sentences that people do not misunderstand and remember that all names and beginning of sentences must have a capital letter.

They quickly got to work and the next day Sally went to school and showed her new sentence to the teacher.

My name is Sally.  I like to cook, myself, and my family.

Guess who is now the new class captain?

From that day on Cole and Cirus became very hardworking and made the other punctuation marks very happy and also helped lots and lots of people every day.

                                                             

image source

Sally learned that using your punctuation marks correctly is very very important.  

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

                                   

Sort:  

I like your story very much! I'm not english native spoken. So I hope to learn more.

Thank you - I mostly do posts for kids in easy understandable language, so anybody who does not speak english as a first language can also use it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75