Not the end but the beginning.

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

My student has just finished his last Prelims paper.

I am a little emotional. In a way I have been looking forward to this day but now that it has happened I cannot help but think... Have I done enough? Many teachers (i think) would agree that the about of stress that a teacher goes through because of her student double when they realise that they are on their own now.

I have done my part. He is going to be writing his end exams in three weeks, the only thing he has left to do is study. The ball is in his court.

As he sits in front of me and awaits the last instruction I am tearful and proud. He came into my life a boy, and he now greets me a man of his own right and who has taken charge.
I am very proud of him!

Our story started because of other events that had to be changed in order to secure his future.
He was in a school which did not understand what he had gone through as a youngster and could not give him the encouragement and help he needed to improve in his schooling.

His parents heard that I was to resign at the end of the year and offered me a position as a homeschooling educator.
I informed them that I too was still a student myself but they did not mind. Their children and I have grown close over the previous few months (I had been offering extra mathematics lessons in the afternoons).

The position included a better salary and stable hours.
It would be him and I everyday.
It scared me to be quite honest. I had never been involved in homeschooling and did not know what to expect. Looking the new challenge in the eye, I took it.

Here I stand infront of you all 9 months later. 3 terms. 1 midyear exam. 1 prelim exam later...

Yes, I have been angry and resentful about taking the position. It had been a trying time. My studies have not received the proper effort they should have and everything had been a mess while planning the wedding as well.
Still I would not change my choice now...

I could not be more proud of this student of mine.
He has grown in every way possible and I have been privileged enough to be influenced by him and his family as well.
They have become my family.

I have been privileged enough to talk about the Lord and learn about music and movies.
They have taught me so much as well.

My road would not end after his last paper as yet. I am still there to help him prepare for each end exam paper in the future but emotions are running high.

Oh my sweet boy, the places you will go...

Sort:  

Your post has been selected as the @steemiteducation Post of the Day:)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the #steemiteducation tag in the post itself.

I hope all goes well with the exams!!

Thank you so much! I think it will. He has been working really hard!

Congratulations @aninke! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations...

Congratulations @aninke! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82