Kurosaki Ichigo From Bleach & Learning

in #steemiteducation6 years ago


Image source

I love Japanese Anime. I love watching them with friends and talking about them every week when a new episode came out. I was introduced to Bleach when I was in college and came to love every bit of it. The protagonist , the main character of Bleach is Kurosaki Ichigo. The anime revolves around how he was given powers by a soul reaper and managed to develop his own powers. As he was not permitted to have this powers in the first place, he was hunted by other Soul Reapers and in the midst of it all, discovers a conspiracy that was brewing among the Soul Reapers' world.

The summary I gave is but a fraction of what went on throughout the 366 episodes with a manga that spans an even longer storyline. Its well worth a watch and I prefer Bleach over Naruto. As I was following the story, I find that there is something about Kurosaki Ichigo's tenacity that spoke to me. As an educator, I find that there were many valuable lessons that can be learnt from him.

You Are Not Defined By Your Surroundings


Image source

In Bleach, the Soul reapers are divided into 13 squads, each squad having a captain, a vice captain and many other Soul Reapers under the captain's command. Many of these captains are thousands of years old and some are descended from noble families. This means that they either have a longer time to train their powers or they naturally were born with an affinity towards wielding their powers.

Kurosaki Ichigo did not have any of that but strove to be better, despite knowing what the odds were, he continued his fight. This is something admirable, choosing to fight on despite knowing that the odds were completely against him. I believe that he chose not to be defined by his upbringing and ability, but choose to be defined by his sheer will. I think the same can be applied in learning.

When I was in college, I was told of the Matthew effect. That the rich would become richer, the poor would become poorer. The same goes for educational opportunities. Many students know this unfortunately. The sad thing is many, choose to be defined by their surroundings. They claim that since they were not born with the same opportunities as their richer peers, therefore, it is useless for them to strive as they would fall short.


Image source

I believe that as long as one is willing to try and push on, they would find success. Besides, the best option is to try and push on, in the hopes of succeeding. This is a much better compared to option 2, which is giving up. That's because while you may fail if you try, you will definitely fail if you don't.

Working Well With Others

In true Anime fashion, you will see Kurosaki Ichigo running towards the enemy or into the enemy's territory without thinking. He however does this fairly often with his team of friends. I find that there are many who have been brought up to think learning as a solo experience. Home work is normally assigned to each student and exam results are graded according to each individual's effort. There is nothing wrong with that.

However, I find that it is best to allow students to learn from each other. My coach used to say, iron sharpens iron and with enough competition and collaboration, the students would likely find much meaning in learning as compared to 'shadow-boxing' an invisible opponent in the form of exams.


Image source

Furthermore, collaborative learning does take a way a lot of stress. Research says that a person learns best by teaching others or by experiencing something. Thus, if a teacher were to give every student in the class 5 different worksheets to complete and five students decide to come together to share the workload, working together and teaching each in order to complete the task given by the teacher. Who do you think would've learnt more effectively? The students who worked together or the one who decided to complete the task on his own?

Conclusion

Bleach is a great story and while the manga has ended, I still hope to see the final arc of the anime in 2018 or even next year. What's more important however is the lessons that can be learnt from Kurosaki Ichigo in Bleach. What is the lesson that you have learnt from Bleach? Did you like the anime or are you more of a Naruto fan? Do let me know in the comments below.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

I think Anime is very creative and can be fun to read and watch. My oldest son loves Anime. I find I need to be aware of what is being watched though as a lot of Anime is on the edge and some images can be quite sexual and graphic. I worry more when my younger children want to watch. Some of the shows and movies are certianly for an adult demographic.

Bleach, naruto and one piece.. big fan man!
Kurosaki was blessed with great bloodline lineage though, if not he couldn't have achieved that kind of feat too :P so you need to be born with talent too.

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

my stepson is also a bug fan of Japanese Anime I am sure he has taught himself a lot of Japanese without realizing it watching the anime

There is still lot to learn from every dimensions

Interesting, I had never read about Japanese comics, my brother likes it, I will show you your insurance article will like it. thanks for sharing

I used to watch manga cartoons when I was a kid. I liked Naruto too. The first one I saw was Sanbybell, I still remember it, although it was over 30 years ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64308.31
ETH 2810.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65