3 funny teaching stories and a lesson

in #steemiteducation6 years ago


Image source

Ever since I started teaching, there were many situations where I just was so taken aback by my students' innocence or trolling. As a teacher, there are times where I assume that my students knew exactly what I meant. However, I have been proven wrong many times. Although some of these incidents were innocent mistakes, some of these are just the older students playing pranks on me or, as the internet would put it, trolling me.

Thus, here are 3 funny stories where this has happened. The incidents are arranged from innocence to pure trolling. So sit back and I hope you will get a good laugh out of this.

A Competitive Swimmer Drowning


Image source

I have just finished teaching a swimming class and was talking to a parent about their child's progress. A student walked up to me and asked if he could bring his toys and play with it in the pool. This child, whom we shall call Eric was a competitive swimmer but he was only 6.

I told Eric that he could, but he could only bring one toy in. The pool was deep and he needed at least one hand to swim. He agreed and I continued talking with another parent. After a few minutes, Eric's grandmother ran towards me and pointed frantically at Eric who was at the bottom of the pool. She was frantic, claiming that Eric had drowned.

I quickly dropped my phone on the floor and dove into the pool fully clothed. I grabbed Eric and quickly lifted him to the side of the pool. Praying silently that he was ok and that I remembered my CPR. As we reached the side, Eric looked at me, curious and asked with an innocent...

What?

I told him that I thought he was drowning. He replied that he was fine and I asked what was he doing submerged under water. At this point, Eric was still clutching his toys. He looked at me and said...

I couldn't decide which toy to choose so I dove in with both of them. I was deciding which would play better under water.

I couldn't helped but laughed. To pay for his innocence. I drove him in my car wet. At least he was ok.

Bring A Notebook To Class


Image source

I recently got rather annoyed with Nathan. He was unwilling to bring his notebook to class. He always came free and easy to class, no bags, no books, just his pencil case. I gave him an ultimatum. He was required to come next week with his notebook and books. I told him that at the very least, he should bring something to write on.

He nodded, apologized and told me that it will never happen again. The next day, he came to class the same way he did yesterday. No books, no bag, just a pencil case. However, this time, he held a piece of paper in his hand. It was the kind of paper that parents would use to write a note to the teacher. A lot went through my mind. Did I do something wrong? Was there a complaint? I asked Nathan if his parents had a note for me.

Nathan replied that it was not a note but an empty piece of paper for class. I asked him why would he do this. If I was drinking something at this point, I would probably spit it out. Nathan replied that I asked him to bring something to write on. So he brought that piece of paper.

I guess I should've been clearer. I don't know how he was going to write an essay on a small piece of paper. As much as I tell myself that it was my mistake. I think I saw a smirk on his face as he walked in.

Write Anything You Want


Image source

I was teaching a creative writing class to second language speakers. During one of the lessons, I told my students to write anything they like. The students could choose any topics that interests them and write about it. I told the students that they are free to express themselves.

In hindsight, I should've left the 'free to express yourself' out. The next day, all my students handed in their essays. I was thrilled. The problem was that some of them wrote in their first language. Thus, I received essays in mandarin and Malay. Furthermore, a few of them decided to write a one sentence essay. One even wrote:

Got up of bed today and went to class, good day so far.

One of them decided to write of his first time having sex. I sat in my chair. Truth be told, I was pretty sure some of them knew what I meant but they found a loophole in the task.

Conclusion


Image source

So the lesson to all of you teaching a class of smart students or adults is this, be clear in your instructions. It is wise to leave no room for misinterpretation. Of course, if the students are out to play a prank on you, there's really no way to prepare for that.

I do play pranks on my students too. Thus, if they were to do the same, I won't mind. I believe that if you can dish it, you should be able to take it. That being said, April fool is just around the corner and I have to start preparing for that. I hope you have enjoyed the post. Do let me know your thoughts in the comments below.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

LOL, I guess that will teach you to be clearer to the class. The swimming one or the first time sex story is by far my favourite! I actually nearls spat a mouthful of water all over my PC!

I remember askingy homescience teacher which pleat she meant when she showed us a pleat at the front of her skirt

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

lol Kids are really smart these days. You have to watch out or they will cut corners and not think twice about it. Of course I like to think that I was not like that 30 years ago in school ( But I probably was LOL)

Thanks @alvinauh for the entertaining post :)

Funny in learning needs to be done by teachers so that learning is not boring. But funny activities throughout the learning take place is also not wise. In my opinion, there are certain times we make learning funny. Thank @alvinauh for your post.

I totally agree with giving clear instructions. Sometimes they are just very simple minded.

I remembered during my kindergarten teaching days, I told the students to let me know when they want to head to the bathroom.

So in Malay it was translated to
"Cikgu, saya nak pergi tandas"

Some of the time the kids decided to remember the keywords,

Cikgu, saya, tandas

And they will come up with short quotes like

"Cikgu tandas"

"Cikgu, saya tandas"

Lol... Cikgu tandas! haha.. or in my case, teacher, toilet! I would reply 'where? where?'

What interesting stories so funny with the swimmer

I could see myself being literal like Nathan lol

Lol, yup, Nathan does that often. He looks nice but he trolls very very well.

Lol kids will be kids

I'm dying at the 2nd story!! well he did do what you asked him to do and brought something to write on lol.

I recall being that kind of student although it was college that I only came to class with just a ballpen haha. I would then just photocopy the notes of those that took down notes while I was busy listening and asking questions.

Yup on the third one you placed yourself on the spot there. Students will always find loopholes hahaha.

I love the swimming pool story. This really shows the heart of a teacher to jump in to save your student and your sense of humor to realize he is ok. He is just playing with his underwater toys.

Yup, I should've known, but hey, you can never be too sure, right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88