Self-Image - Critical to long-term behaviour change

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

From my last article

https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@allandharvey/the-brain-train

You are now aware of the significant role that 'thinking' plays in bringing about long term behaviour change. Over the next few episodes I am going to share with you some tools and guidelines that will help you THINK differently about the changes you may want to make.

If you're contemplating change maybe this quote will help you in deciding to act.

When the pain of NOT changing EXCEEDS the pain of change, you'll change.

This is a truth.

There are two critical factors that govern the time it takes to change and the success of that change.

These critical factors are YOU and YOUR ENVIRONMENT

YOU is broken up into three very important elements. To illustrate my point I would ask you to imagine a triangle divided into three equal parts with two horizontal lines. In the bottom third you have Self-image, the middle, Self-esteem and the top, Self-confidence. Self-image is the foundation. Self-esteem is a natural outcome of a positive Self-image. Self-confidence is the natural outcome of a high self-esteem and thus takes up a position at the top of the triangle.

Today I want to talk about Self-Image.

Self-image is best defined as the way you SEE yourself, the image you have of yourself.

There are four elements of self-image, that will help you identify where your might be struggling. I'll use the acronym SLIP to describe each of these four elements.

Skills

On a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being very skilled and 1 being way under-skilled what level would you say you are at? Do you need to up-skill yourself? If so set a goal. If you're satisfied with the level you are at move on to the next element.

Looks

Looks or appearance is a BIG one. Just think of the number of people on diet, all wanting to look better. Obviously this is not just about overweight. Often it is the little things that people criticise themselves for. Their eyes are too close together, they got freckles they dont like, the colour or texture of their skin, their height or body shape, hair texture and colour, shape and size of their nose and on and on we can go.

As much as we accept that there are things that we have control over and which we can change, there are also things we have no control over which we cannot and perhaps should not change. Take a look at the botched face lifts on Google, boob jobs and so on.

Rate your appearance or looks on the same scale as before. Prioritise what you can and cannot change and make a decision to improve on what you can change.

Intelligence

https://blog.adioma.com/9-types-of-intelligence-infographic/

Howard Garners original book on the subject of intelligence's was called Seven Kinds of Smart. It changed the way I thought about what intelligence really means. How grateful I am for that learning as I have helped hundreds of people understand that they are all intelligent.

IQ measures mathematical logic. When I was at school (before history was a subject) students were graded into classes labelled A, B, C, and D according to ones aptitude more than ones attitude. I was located in class C at best and on one occasion D when I repeated Standard Three.
I grew up believing and being made to believe that I was stupid, delinquent, lazy and a day-dreamer. I was forced to leave school in Standard Nine and began working. Later in life I needed a matric for a promotion and decided to write my matric, which I did. I passed with a few distinctions. I was 33 years old. Quite late in life to learn and accept that I was not stupid, delinquent, lazy or a day-dreamer.

Score yourself accordingly and smile. You should have no problem scoring yourself 8+.

Personal Worth

Sometimes referred to as self-worth. From Google this definition helps us understand the meaning of this important element of self-image.

Self worth is the opinion you have about yourself and the value you place on yourself. An example of self worth is your belief that you are a good person who deserves good things or your belief that you are a bad person who deserves bad things.

What do you believe about yourself? Once again it is pretty obvious that your score for Skills, Looks and Intelligence will contribute to what you score yourself under Self-worth and what you think you deserve and do not deserve.

It's of little help that I tell you that I believe in you. You HAVE to believe this yourself. Failure to do so will retard any measurable progress towards being more self-confident. I suggest that as you address the weaknesses in the other elements above you will slowly but surely improve your level of self-worth.

Look out for the next episode on Self-Esteem.

Enjoy the journey, LOVE the destination.

Sort:  

Not sure if it is too late for change?, but time management is a big one for me!

It's never too late.. I have an excellent module on time management A.

I hope each article you post here will be a chapter in your hopefully soon to be published book?

just love this stuff, you are a master at it.

That's humbling @fred703 thank you. Probably because I have lived it and then taught it for over 22 years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88