How I Increase Students' Motivation

Motivation.jpg

As a teacher, my goal is to inspire my students to achieve success both in the classroom and out of the classroom. I always believe that motivation is the main part in my classroom. If students do not have motivation, they will not learn. To increase students’ motivation I conduct several strategies in my teaching. Sometimes, I begin my lesson with warm-up activities, such as showing images to attract them and ask them to make prediction. I do this to capture their interest in the topic I teach.

When I teach a new group of students, I survey them to learn their interest or their hobbies. The information from my surveys I use to design my lesson and relate it to the learning objective with the topic I know my students interest in. For example, I got the information that my students’ were interested in reading novel. In the class I saw that they shared their novels with their friends. So that, I designed my English lesson to describe about the novel their read, the authors of the novels, the characters in the novels, and the ending of the novel. The lesson ended with a discussion “if you were the author of your novel would you like to change ending of story? If yes, how would you change it?.

My students took turns sharing their ideas with their friends. In this phase, they used the novels they like instead of the textbooks. I also helped my students develop their listening and speaking skills while giving them opportunity to express their own ideas in a way that was interesting and motivating by engaging in the discussion.

In other times, I develop my students’ reading and writing skill by asking them to write the best moment in their life. After writing the story, I created several groups of students. In the group they checked their writing together to revise the possible grammatical errors they made. At the end, they would read their story in to their group members. The other members could ask some question about the story.

This is a glance of my classroom and the way I increase their motivation in learning. I hope that you also have your own ways and strategies in increasing your students' motivation. Feel free to share us your ways, we encourage all teachers to write educational article in this community for better education. keep steemit on educational content!!!

Regard,

ALFYD, English Language Teacher

Sort:  

very good post you education

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Nice post education is needed everywhere. Sometimes not just for kids.

Yes. I think so. That why education is for long life. Thank you reading my article.

Beautiful post -o if teaching is in your blood,motivating kids are just second nature. It is a wonderful feeling to know you made a child feel good about themselves. Resteeming

Thank you for reading and resteeming my article.
I think that every children is special, the teacher should play important play important role to increase their motivation in learning.

I followed you,

Great post. I am a science teacher and also believe that motivation is a huge part of the classroom. Without motivating our students, it is very difficult for them to learn.

thank you for reading my article @lcerm
when you believe that motivation in learning is important aspect in you class, you are a good teacher for your students.
Keep educating and inspiring

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71