How Do My Students Write Their Holiday Stories? : Students' Original Stories about Their Holidays

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

writing-down-ideas.jpg
Image source

Five months ago, I taught recount text to my students in the first grade of senior high school.It is one of kind of texts that obliged by curriculum among others text; Narrative, descriptive and procedure. During teaching this text, there several learning objectives that I as the teacher wanted to be achieved by students. By learning this text I expected that my student were able to tell their stories using past tense verb, and they are able to write their story based their own past experience.

However, to achieved the goal, I facilitated my student to write their holiday stories. Before asking them to write their texts, the first thing I did is explaining them about the definition, generic structures and the language features of recount texts, as well as showing them several example of recount text writings. The purpose of this activity was to see what kinds of errors that my students made on writing the texts. So that, After they submitted their work I checked all Grammatical errors they made. Surprisingly, I found that the most grammatical errors they made is in the category of Verb form. Based of my analysis on their verb form errors, I concluded that my students were confuses of using past tense in their writing.

Furthermore, in this article I intend to show you several holidays stories that were written by students. This stories have been revised by me on their grammatical errors.

writing.gif
Image source

TRIP TO GURUTEE
One day, My family and I went to Gurutee Park in Aceh Jaya. We went there because that was my holiday from my boarding school after examination. We arrived there at noon, and there were many people around the park. We stopped our car in parking area and we ate together in the park. After eating , we took some pictures. There was a beautiful river around the park. Its water looked green, and there were many fishes in the river. Then, we continued our tour to the top of Gurutee. We saw many monkeys in the middle of the road. Finally, we arrived at the top of Gurutee. In the evening, we went back to Banda Aceh. I think this is my best holiday with my family. The next holiday we are going to go to other places.


CHASED BY A DOG
Last week, my friend and I went to a beach for holiday. When we arrived at the beach, we were so bored. Then we realized on a reason that there were not many people on that day. So, we decided to return home.
On the way we returned home, a dog chased us. I did not know why it chased us. We run fast, the we hit a big tree. Consequently, people laughed at us. The next day, we were afraid of going to the beach because there was a crazy dog.


MY HOLIDAY
Last year holiday, my family and I went to Lake Toba. We spent two nights at Lake Toba. We stayed in a big house. there was big mount and lots of colorful flowers.
When we arrived at Lake Toba which is only two kilometers from where we stayed, we were surprised to see a big mount. It was really cool on the top of the mount, and we made fire there. My grandmother laughed to see I bite my finger because there was really cool. Finally, we went home from the long trip. When we arrived, I felt very happy because this was my best holiday.


MY HOLIDAY IN KUALA LUMPUR
One day, my family and I went to Malaysia for holiday. In Malaysia, we went to Kuala Lumpur, Twin Towers and to other places. I was also sick when I was there, and my mom took me to hospital.
I was so happy when we were in Kuala Lumpur. I thought it was like a dream to go to holiday in Malaysia. I also went to a beach that was close to Tanjung Pinang. My brother and I swam in the beach.
Finally, I hoped that I could go back to Malaysia with my family. I cannot forget that holiday. It was the most attractive thing in my life.


HOLIDAY WITH MY FRIENDS
Last holiday, I went to a village. I stayed at my friend’s house. The house is very big and beautiful. It has a big garden with colorful flowers and a small pool of fish. In the morning, my friend and I went to a beach by a car together. After we arrived at the beach, we played together. Then, we took pictures of a beautiful scenery there. After getting tired of playing at the beach, we had lunch under a big tree. Before we got home, we went to a a shop to buy some souvenir for our families.Finally, we were tired. But, I think i was really fun to have holiday like this. I hope my next holiday will be more interesting.


MY HOLIDAY STORY
Dear my story, I want to tell you a story of my life. When I was a child, I lived with my family in Aceh Jaya. We were so happy. One day, we all went to Kuta Malaka in Sibreh, Samahani. This journey was planned for my birthday. After we arrived there, we had to pass the jungle to go to a waterfall. On the way, I met a boy who was smoking under a tree. So, I advised him to do not smoke in public places because it was bad and forbidden. After that, my brother said that the boy was a naughty boy and he would be angry. I was very afraid of him. Then, I continued my my walk to the waterfall. When we arrived around the waterfall, we took bath there together. The water was very cool and there were many trees there. I really liked this place.Finally, we went back to Aceh Jaya at five o’clock. That was my best holiday in my life. It was funny, happy and I cannot forget that holiday.


Those all short stories were written by my students. I really enjoyed reading their stories because they have good ideas in writing the short stories about their holiday experience. I found they have really understood about the generic structures of the text. But, I think I have to find other strategies in teachingthe past tense to them in order to reduce their grammatical errors in writing the text.



Regards,
ALFYD, English Language Teacher



Sort:  

Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile.

- Albert Einstein

thank for the wisdom quote @wise-old-man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57711.87
ETH 3013.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35