You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Schooling Models Need An Overhaul?

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

I agree that the factory needs to be shut down to make way for something more modern.

I wouldn't even send my kid if I could afford child care or to be home. So I'm just going to have to pray my parenting over rules social conditioning.

I think it's a combination of parenting/outdated educational systems/fluff ball culture...

My four year old can operate a washing machine, dryer too. She folds the laundry like a boss, dusts, sweeps, helps with dishes and can cook.

She knows how to make chicken noodle soup from scratch. I supervise at all times and assist when needed but... Her muffins are pretty good too.

She's more capable and ready for the 'real world' than some kids I know in their late teens.

I'm not bragging (I was one of those), I have no clue how she'll turn out, but I think we've just gotten a little soft in first world comfy bubbles.

There are five year olds hunting huge poisonous spiders, building a fire, and cooking them for a meal in Africa (saw it on a documentary, forgot which one) so I see no reason why my first world five year old shouldn't be able to make a sandwich while I ignore parenting police shouting at me to "let her be a kid!" Like cutting all of her crust is going to help her survive when when I die.

Sort:  

You see - this is great. It's wonderful to hear that there are more than the few parents I know who believe that their kids need some sort of responsibility and give it to them. I'm impressed that your 4 year old can do the washing so well... and cook!

I think you hit a particular nail on the head, @accio in that it is more of a first world problem. It probably boils down to necessity. If you need to hunt and cook that spider to survive, then you just do what needs to be done, but if the hard work gets in the way of playing your video games or watching Netflix, then why do it?

I've always had her help me, since she could pick things up she "helped".


Her handy work.

And as for the machines, I firmly believe if they can figure out how to get red ball across the level on their tablets they can hit the power and start buttons on a laundry machine!

Wow! She’s pretty good - you’ve taught her well. My son enjoys helping out too - setting the dishwasher, and actually, he is showing an interest every time the washing machine is turned on too.

And as for the machines, I firmly believe if they can figure out how to get red ball across the level on their tablets they can hit the power and start buttons on a laundry machine!

I think this is my quote of the week! Had me chuckling for a while.

I really didn't even teach her, she just got better and better and now is a mini laundry boss. Maybe I just got lucky with a domestically gifted child, some kids can paint masterpieces or play complex piano pieces... Mine can cook and clean! XD I'll take it haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59364.52
ETH 2593.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47