Piloting: Going Commercial

in #steemitdotcom7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians, @ceepee is here again :)
I really don't want to go into too much details on my experience/journey into my world as a pilot.

But the urge to write is so strong as I'm busy reading other people's experiences. Lol.

So, let's take a little walk into my my little world.

The transformation from a commercial pilot fresh from flying school with 250hrs flying hours experience, flying a propeller 4 sitter 2 engine plane(Piper Seneca) to a jet engine, 120-140 seater passenger plane


This is a huge opportunity with more added responsibility. So I had just 21 days to get certified to fly the Boeing 737.

I have a lot of stuff to get into my head in this short period. Now the race against time starts.

It started with the ground section, where you will have a written and oral test.

I had to familiarize myself with all the instruments and switches (in the cockpit)and what to do in case of emergency happens to forestall catastrophic outcome.

I also had the memorise items( we call them memory verse), in case of emergencies.

Timing is of essence here as you have only seconds to react. I needed to know my engine, even though I don't have a mechanical engineering background.

So here I am , the only lady in a class of 6 but fear of failure continually push me to perform harder than I would have.
It paid off as I passed my writen and oral test.

But this is just the beginning. I still have harder hurdles to jump ahead; the need to put all these theories into practical.

Welcome to my world. Lady pilot. Super grateful and privileged to be here :)

Sort:  

Yeah. Just in time :) This is awesome. Go girl.

OK now this is getting intresting. Quick question why do u guys use 'may day' for distress calls?

Would you rather they use June day? Lol

Honestly had that in mind ;)

'Mayday' is for emergencies, life threatening situations. 'Pan' is for distress call. Not life threatening, but requires urgent attention.

Thumbs up

Respect! Your achievements are remarkable. Maybe one day you will fly me out of here :)

With all pleasure sir. Whenever you are ready

This is the first time I took time to read your post. Think it's great. It's a rare privilege to see into your world lady pilot. Kindly add pictures of some of these aircrafts you have mentioned above we'll like to see them.

Thanks

Pictures added :)

Thank you. Pictures added

Aww this is awesome @ceepee! How can i go about getting into a school? Mind sharing how much $ it takes to graduate sort of?
Glad you did pass your written and oral, hope to see you when fly together! Cheers!

Nice @amreshchandra. Is easy to get a school to learn how to fly. Depends on the country you want to do your training. 60-70k USD can take you from 0hrs -250hrs commercial hours with intrusment and multi-engine rating. I trained in Canada. Some other places are cheaper.

Captain p....would love to be co pilot baby

Yes babe, come fly around the world with me

"Womenofsteemit" don't know why i always feel ladys are always wary of maginalization on seeing that... Haha 😀... BTW it was nice reading your experience, taking a seat already to wait for more.

One love

Yeah... I singer says it keeps us together.😊

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 23 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54