Medicines in My LIfe and The Role They Play

I am a diabetic, over 50 and overweight. That is the facts of life. I am also a cancer survivor, even thought it was only stage 1 because we caught it in time. Here I want to share what I have to go through or take to keep healthy and live longer.

I decided to have a complete medical check-up when I turned 40. I had DVT or deep vein thrombosis and hypertension, but my blood sugar was not yet diagnosed until later. I also had my gall bladder removed a few years after and that was when my blood sugar went up. I was not strict in following my medications because I was lazy and I thought I was still young. Also I did not want to spend money which was not right. Now I have to spend 9-10 thousand pesos a month just for my maintenance medicines. So if ever you feel something or get over the age of forty, get a yearly medical check-up with blood works with your doctor. Better safe than sorry and maybe if there is anything wrong, you can catch it in time and treat it.

26238258_10155735162770280_319695329_o.jpg
This is part of my life now. It holds all the medicines I have to take before and after breakfast, lunchtime and dinner. If I have to go out I have a small container where I place my medicines to take and bring it in my bag with me.

26772703_10155762109535280_1207873744_o.jpg
These are my medicines for my type 2 diabetes. Most are common. The glyxambi25/5 is my new one which is actually helping lower my blood sugar.

METFORMIN 500mg - Metformin, marketed under the trade name Glucophage among others, is the first-line medication for the treatment of type 2 diabetes, particularly in people who are overweight. It is also used in the treatment of polycystic ovary syndrome. Limited evidence suggests metformin may prevent the cardiovascular disease and cancer complications of diabetes. It is not associated with weight gain. It is taken by mouth.
SOURCE
*I take this 1 gm in the morning (two 500mg tab) and 1 gm in the evening. I buy the generic and sometimes look for the smaller tablets.

DIAMICRON MR 60mg - Diamicron 60 MG Tablet MR is an oral anti-diabetic, it is used to lower the blood sugar level. It is used only in patients diagnosed with Type II Diabetes. It may be used along with Insulin or other medicines in order to achieve better control over the blood sugar levels. A controlled diet and exercise routine may give better results.
SOURCE
*I take this before breakfast 1 1/2 tablets.

GLYXAMBI 25/5 mg - Glyxambi contains a combination of empagliflozin and linagliptin are oral diabetes medicines that help control blood sugar levels. Empagliflozin works by helping the kidneys get rid of glucose from your bloodstream. Linagliptin works by regulating the levels of insulin your body produces after eating.
Glyxambi is used together with diet and exercise improve blood sugar control in adults with type 2 diabetes. This medicine is not for treating type 1 diabetes.
Glyxambi is also used to lower the risk of death from heart attack, stroke, or heart failure in adults with type 2 diabetes who also have heart disease.
SOURCE
*I just started this. I take it after lunch.

26735162_10155762108850280_881390160_o.jpg
ALLOPURINOL - to help prevent gout. I had a high uric acid count and took 300mg before but now even though it has lowered , my doctor still suggest I take it but at a lowered dose 100mg. I take it after lunch.
SIMVASTITIN- I Also had high cholesterol and I just take a lower dosage for maintenance. My cholesterol level now is down but just for maintenance and to help prevent it going up again.

Besides being diabetic I was also diagnosed with having DVT or deep vein thrombosis. I was given medication but was not taking it regularly and even stopped it.

Deep vein thrombosis (DVT) - is the formation of a blood clot in a deep vein, most commonly the legs. Symptoms may include pain, swelling, redness, or warmth of the affected area. About half of cases have no symptoms. Complications may include pulmonary embolism, as a result of detachment of a clot which travels to the lungs, and post-thrombotic syndrome.
Risk factors include recent surgery, cancer, trauma, lack of movement, obesity, smoking, hormonal birth control, pregnancy and the period following birth, antiphospholipid syndrome, and certain genetic conditions. Genetic factors include deficiencies of antithrombin, protein C, and protein S, and factor V Leiden mutation.The underlying mechanism typically involves some combination of decreased blood flow rate, increased tendency to clot, and injury to the blood vessel wall.
Anticoagulation (blood thinners) is the standard treatment. Typical medications include low-molecular-weight heparin, warfarin, or a direct oral anticoagulant. Wearing graduated compression stockings may reduce the risk of post-thrombotic syndrome. Prevention may include early and frequent walking, calf exercises, aspirin, anticoagulants, graduated compression stockings, or intermittent pneumatic compression. The rate of DVTs increases from childhood to old age; in adulthood, about one in 1000 adults are affected per year. About 5% of people are affected by a VTE at some point in time.
SOURCE

I was complaining of frequent leg and calf cramps especially when I wake up in the morning and alight swelling and occasional pain so I had lower leg ultrasound. That was 17 yrs ago. But now I have to take my maintenance for it...lifetime my doctor said. She may lessen it gradually. So if you are or have any of the risk factors mentioned, go and get a check up, better safe than sorry.

26781642_10155762109445280_205804845_o.jpg
DAFLON 500mg- Daflon 500 mg coated tablets contain Micronized, Purified flavonoid fraction 500 mg. The Generic Name is Diosmin Hesperidin.
Diosmin 450 mg
Hesperidin 50 mg
Uses of Daflon 500 mg
What is Daflon 500 mg Used For?
Treatment of organic and functional chronic venous insufficiency of the lower limbs with the following symptoms
Heavy legs
Pain
Nocturnal cramps
Treatment of functional symp­toms related to an acute haemorrhoidal episode.
SOURCE
*Now I have to take this 2 tabs a day one in the morning after breakfast and one evening after dinner time.

26781376_10155762805540280_1932927376_o.jpg
She may lower the dose if she sees improvement. I also have to wear anti-embolism stockings. I am lucky to have these but sad to say I don't wear them regularly, kind of uncomfortable . She prefers the thigh-high one.

26771654_10155762805515280_2073619850_o.jpg
I wear these when I go out to the city especially if a lot of walking is required. With a good pair of comfortable walking shoes., like the one I have Skechers GoWalk 3. Maybe expensive but will last a long time and good for walking. For your health you must spend a little so you won't have to spend a lot if you get hospitalized.

26803155_10155762838905280_984063950_n.jpg
I have had these since mid 2015 and still good. Very comfortable and makes walking easy and no pain.

For my hypertension I have to take maintenance too. Even if it is not too high, my doctor said it is also for prevention of other complications.

26772472_10155762109380280_1041982633_o.jpg
TWYNSTA 40/5 - Generic Name: amlodipine and telmisartan (am LOE de peen and TEL me SAR tan) Brand Names: Twynsta
Twynsta contains a combination of amlodipine and telmisartan. Amlodipine is a calcium channel blocker. Amlodipine relaxes (widens) blood vessels and improves blood flow.
Telmisartan is an angiotensin II receptor antagonist. Telmisartan keeps blood vessels from narrowing, which lowers blood pressure and improves blood flow.
Twynsta is used to treat high blood pressure (hypertension). Lowering blood pressure may lower your risk of a stroke or heart attack.
SOURCE
**This I take every morning after breakfast. I check my BP (blood pressure) Occasionally so if ever it gets too low I won't take it. But I need to take it because of all the stress in life.

These are my prescribed medicines. Ones that I have to take religiously. So every time I go to the city I buy good for 1 month. But I also take additional vitamins and supplements with the Doctor's approval.

26781554_10155762108660280_879161361_o.jpg
C-Lium is just fiber and helps aid in digestion, or good for digestion. It also supposed to help lower cholesterol levels, blood sugar levels and helps you lose weight. So I take this before bedtime.

26771899_10155762109395280_1362430791_o.jpg
Vit B complex NEUROBION or NEUROGEN E - I take either one, whatever is available. It is used to help maintain normal nerve functions. As we grow older the nerves also wear down. I take it because my hands and fingers gets numb sometimes or have the tingling sensations, carpal dysfunctions. So far it has been effective. And Vit E is also a good anti oxidant. My doctor said it was ok to take it. So to spread out the medicines and vitamins I take this after lunch. So far I have not heard of any side effects.

26781648_10155762109500280_630607252_o.jpg
CINNAMON - I always thought it was a spice only for baking and cooking, But by researching I found out it can lower blood sugar levels, reduce the risk of heart diseases, and has a lot more impressive health benefits, and with chronium, it is supposed to help you lose weight faster. My daughter sent me this. I guess she wants me to get healthy so I can go to the US. Since there has also been no known bad side effects, my doctor gave me the go signal to take it. I only take it once, after lunch too instead of twice a day. It is just for supplements.

26696939_10155762230470280_2137898420_n-horz.jpg
These are just some other vitamins I sometimes take like Vit C and Glucosamine. Glucosamine is good for the joints.
GLUCOSAMNIN W/ CHONDROITIN - Chondroitin, MSM (methylsulfonylmethane) and glucosamine are known for their anti-inflammatory benefits and the ability to ease pain. They’re primarily found in supplements that are marketed for improving joint health. But that’s not the only thing they’re good for.
Research shows that it’s also helpful for reducing the pain that often stems from osteoarthritis. Osteoarthritis is a degenerative condition that’s truly painful, commonly leading to stiff and painful, achy joints. They can be found in supplements individually or blended together.
SOURCE

But I don't take them regularly. Especially since I feel like I am full of medicines. Not something I like and want, but need to have. I was not strict with following my doctor's orders so now I have to pay the price...a very expensive price. So please have a yearly check-up whether you feel anything or not and follow the doctor's prescriptions.

NOTE - DISCLAIMER

These are my medications. Please do not try taking any of them without your doctor's permission!

Just sharing my daily intake of medications, my maintenance which affects my daily living and helps keep me as healthy as I can be. I also try to exercise and have a proper diet. I just can't rely on medicine alone. I also have to work hard and do my share.

Pictures are all mine

24818917_1683696411703743_2000932521_o.jpg

Sort:  

That's a lot of meds. I understand your situation coz we have a lot of diabetic patients in the clinic.

I also have my maintenance medicine for my hypertension Ate..Losartan 50mg but I am just taking 25mg as my doctor's prescription.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @purpledaisy57 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

it is the same of my father and mother maintenance of their medicine too.

I wish you feel so good that no medicine required :'( I wish your good health dear! hugs!

that's a lot ma'am. That's the reason why I am afraid to have my health checked. hehehe

if you wait longer like I did there might be more problems

I can relate to you Ms.@purpledaisy57. My mom has a lot of maintenance medicines to take. We wish you a good life.

That's a lot of medicines po. That cinnamon supplement is really effective po in diabetes patients. They control the absorption of sugar and it has lots of benefits po because its herbals.

My father is diabetic too, he was taking insulin.

Oh fudge! Ang daming gamot. 😯

grabe nga but necessary because I made the mistake of not following my docotr's orders earlier

My mother in law, don't want to go to a doctor for a check up, because she is afraid to know her health condition, but we are still trying to pursue her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58690.10
ETH 2310.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49