AGUSAN MARSH WILDLIFE SANCTUARY: One Humbling Experience

in #steemitdiversify6 years ago (edited)

It was almost a week but the memories I had at the Agusan Marsh Wildlife Sanctuary still lingers me, leaving me in reverie of that humbling experience I hold dear in my heart. And now here I am, sharing to the world that piece of happiness I crafted at the heart of Agusan Marsh.

Watch the video in HD.

Agusan Marsh is not the usual travel destination for the common crowd as it is incomparable to that white sand beaches you have pictured in mind. We've traveled for almost 5 hours bus ride from Davao City to Trento. Another hour of dusty ride to Loreto. Add the perilous boat trip to the heart of the marshland which took us about an hour and half. In the seemingly endless waters of Agusan River, I gazed at almost everywhere in hopes to find any presence of the crocodiles but sadly, there was none.

Entering the Marsh is like entering into a magical world. It was like a piece of heaven within the earth. So calm, so enchanting. The sound of silence was hypnotic. All you can hear was the earth’s breathing through the gentle winds, rhyming the chirping of the birds while enjoying their wild abode. Ahh! It’s like a music to my soul. That exact moment was the most relaxing voyage of my existence.

Photo Credit: Jeniel Buday of Wild Birds Photographers of the Philippines (WBPP)

Photo Credit: Jovic Ferrer of Wild Birds Photographers of the Philippines (WBPP)

Agusan Marsh is one of the largest and the most contained freshwater catch basin wetland in the Philippines which covers roughly almost the size of Metro Manila. It covers an area of 14,835.989 hectares and is home of different wildlife animals. It is a shutter haven for the wild bird photographers coz there you can see various species of wild birds such as Wild ducks, Herons, Egrets, Kingfisher finding shelter during the cold season of northern continents.

In the very heart of the marsh is a semi-permanent lake where many square kilometres of lily pads, hyacinths and other hydrophytic plants spread out like an enormous green quilt. In the dark tea-colored waters live untold numbers of catfish, carp, soft-shell fresh water turtles, and crocodiles of course. Agusan Marsh is the natural home of “Lolong” the Guinness world record holder as the largest crocodile in captivity.

We settled in the floating village of Sitio Panlabuhan where the Manobo community welcome us with a heartwarming hospitality. They offer a ritual to their 'amigo' (spirits) to grant us a safe journey till we got back home. Offered delectable foods and comfortable accommodation during our stay.

Agusan Marsh awakened me in a way I have never imagined. The unfamiliar sights stirred my senses in a way other places never could. And seeing the manobo’s life pulsating in another world from mine was so invigorating and so humbling. You know, just when I seek answers to the dilemmas and dramas I am dealing with lately, the picture of how they simply live despite the scarce of help coming from others is something I pondered during my stay. The experience is a lesson for me. They taught me how to be humble, to be thankful and to appreciate the sacredness of nature, life and other beings. That is why they are so blessed, not just with the magical paradise they are taking care of, but they are blessed with rich pure hearts. They helped me realized that I have so much to be thankful for, that I am so blessed; just like them; just like every one of us.

One big happy family. Photo By: Bo Canete

Two days was not enough but we need to bid goodbye. I am hoping that one day, I'll be able to come back to this hidden paradise again. Soon!

How To Get here:

  • There are daily flights from Manila or Cebu to Davao City. Or take Manila/Cebu - Butuan route if available.
  • From Davao City, ride an air-conditioned bus bound to Butuan then just alight at Trento or at crossing Cuevas. Fare is 240Php. Public Utility Vans may come handy to those tight budgeted travelers as it cost much cheaper at 170Php Davao - Trento or vice versa.
  • From trento, take a habal-habal to Loreto. fare is 250Php.
  • The Provincial Government of Agusan del Sur offers an Agusan Marsh Aquatic Adventure Package. You can email them at [email protected] or contact Shirley at 0910-6712797.

P.S
This post was originally posted at my Travel blog Lakawero. You can freely read more of my travel experiences there too, but, I will also be transferring them all here too.

P.P.S
Images and video used in this post are mine unless otherwise stated

P.P.P.S
My domain name www.lakawero.com is already expired and I was not able to renew it so my current blog address was reverted back to blog spot.

@surpassinggoogle is such a generous person and has a very big heart for all of us here. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.


Thanks to @bobiecayao for mentoring me and steemit diversify team.

Sort:  

done idol..resteem i like your post

In chineesh culture?

This is from Philippines :)

Oh! Thank you

Ganda, lodi!

maganda talaga dito paps. hehe. nakakatakot lang kasi madami daw buwaya dto

haha yun ang nakakatakot. Ang laki pa naman, isang subuan ka lang haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73