FOSSbot Voter fixed! - patched to v0.2.10

in #steemitdev6 years ago

voter-fixed-gb.jpg

Yesterday I wrote that the steemit websocket node steemd.steemit.com was back up but that relief was short lives, it when down as soon as it went up.

However I didn't realize there were other reliable websocket providing services still running, sorry, my bad. 😅 I have updated FOSSbot Voter to use @gandalf 's websocket service for the time being, this fixes the crashes you're all seeing. I'm only sorry I didn't think of it sooner! A big thanks to @gandalf AKA @gtg for continuing to run this. 👏 👏 👏

You need to update your server

Copied from previous update instructions, they still work.

To install this version for the first time please follow the general installation instructions, or if you're upgrading you'll need to follow the migration instructions.

The voter-docker project (thanks to @shaunmza ), which will allow you to run Voter locally, is fully updated also. Just run the following command and it will update everything for you automatically:

sudo ./run.sh update

You can check the web app version number to make sure it correctly shows v0.2.10

voter-0-2-10.png

Coming up soon

Work on FOSSbot Voter has resumed and I'm working towards v0.3 now, including migrating to use MongoDB instead of Redis for database, and fixes for a dozen other bugs.

voter-fixed-gb-circles.jpg

personz_sig.gif

All images are original and under no license, i.e. CC0. #slothicorn 😎

Sort:  

Hi @personz! I came across an earlier post you made on FOSSbot and algorithms. Maybe an update is necessary? As a new Steemian with a background in software development I have been looking at the blockchain with SQL but it's bot time!

Hey! I read some of your posts, welcome to the party 😄 Great to see other devs here.

Maybe an update is necessary?

What would you like to see?

Thanks for asking! Wish list item #1 - an overview of software development for the blockchain (Steemit focused, of course). Typical languages, where to find info, APIs, blockchain theory, tutorials, what others here are doing with the blockchain... Who to follow? I suspect the info is all here somewhere but it will be faster to find with some guidance.

The developer portal is at https://developers.steem.io/

The library ecosystem could be better an is mainly maintained by volunteers or Steemit Inc. devs in their spare time by the looks of it. There's a particular issue right now with steem-js that I mention in this post where you need to set a different WebSocket or RPC host manually.

Otherwise in terms of tutorials there aren't really any that I'm aware of. I had to piece it together myself! There are some tiny code snippets on the relevant libraries that go some way to help.

If you're comfortable with Node.js then you can read the code for my projects on the Steem FOSSbot organization or my person GitHub account. I follow a very open free and open source ethos so feel free to tinker and reuse any code. 🤓

There are loads of interesting project ideas in the FOSSbot project tracker, and I'll be announcing a new project very soon, looking for all kinds of contributors, so watch this space 😊

Thanks! I suppose most of us are used to piecing things together. 😊

testing now

On macOS, it said:

HEAD is now at 79e4ade Merge branch 'master' into docker-develop

(tried with run.sh update)

going to re-install now.

are you saying the docker update method didn't work?

docker update method didn't work

I forgot to change something there, if you haven't already done a clean install wait and try in 10 minutes

EDIT: yep sorry, that should be fixed now

oh ok - run a clean install and it worked

Awesome! Glad you didn't stay away for too long @personz.

Just needed an extended break! Let's get it fired up again 😎

Fire at will :)

Hi. I'm running this via heroku but I'm getting this for the past 2 days:

image.png

Did I miss anything? thanks.

Without any more information I'm not sure. Have you tried installing the latest version, 0.2.10?

its working! I followed through this post and sync my fork to the main project. thanks! ;)

No problem, good luck out there 😋

thanks for the update. Are you interested in the slothicorn project? We need devs.

Of course I'm interested, it's a great project. But what do you need devs for?

We will need a block explorer....among other things. That's in the future though

As far as I know there are some good tools already out there. When you're ready to show your cards get in touch 😜

Appreciate your hard work (on Behalf of the community)

No problem :D

Your the best =D Seriously appreciate all the work you put in.

Do we have any updates on that comment feature that was in discussion?

No updates except to say that it's on the schedule

Bob you working hard boss.. looking forward to see some new innovations into steemit INDIA

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15