Baby steps, step two - Improving Steemit's Article View

in #steemitdev7 years ago

As I was hacking away at improving the look of the article page on https://steemit.com (you know, the page you are looking at right now), one thing started to become very clear... Stylebot has some serious issues.

Everything seemed to be ok when I was doing the initial styling as part of the first step, however every now and again when working on this round, Stylebot would start loosing my css rules. As every baby learning to walk does, I fell down, but got back up again.

baby-steps.jpg

So most of my time wan't really spent styling, but rather I used it to set some things up in order to make my life, and the speed of development, much faster. The first thing was to create a basic Chrome extension.

purdy-steemit - is the most basic of basic extensions. It's entire purpose is to inject a style sheet that contains the overrides for the article view. To be clear, I don't think I'd suggest anyone install it at this point, not because it will wreck anything, but because it's extremely rudimentary.

github repo - Since I'm building this extension as a learning experience, I've created a public repo so that everyone can point & laugh learn along with me.

It hasn't all been setup though, I've made some changes to the icons down at the bottom of the page and moved them to the left of the content body. My thinking was that these should definitely be more pronounced.

As always, I'd love to hear what you think, and any suggestions you may have.

Sort:  

let's share comments, vote, rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87