You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #3 : Homestead Smoothie - 100% free - weeds, flowers, fruit, and seeds - with foraging ID quiz

A really quality post @haphazard-hstead. The quality of the photographs and the information is tip top !!! I mentioned foraging to my lovely lady and she told me..."Not while there is a supermarket down the road!!!"...LOL.
I reckon you would get fat around our little province here in South Africa... the climate means all year round abundance of weeds and garden escape artists.

Sort:  

Thanks, @themagus. I'm glad you enjoyed my post. I laughed at your lady's comment. To me, I would much rather casually walk around my yard than go to the busy supermarket. It takes a lot less time, I get to enjoy my yard, I don't have to deal with any traffic or crowds at the store, I get the freshest food, and it's all free. I wonder how many weeds we have in common between South Africa and the US Pacific Northwest. So many of our edible weeds were brought in by European settlers and those plants are all over the world. I hope you get to enjoy your weedy abundance some time!

I recognise borage, dandelions, aragula (we call it Wild Rocket), definitely lemon balm ..... I will take some photo's and do a blog and tag you in it and you can see if you can help me identify them (cross referenced with the American name)

You've got he makings of a good salad or smoothie there! I'll look forward to your post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54