STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #43 : Roasted Pumpkin and Onion Salad with Cinnamon Sugar!!!

Hello my lovely friends of Steemit!

After missing the last round in the Steemit Culinary Challenge due to a very busy schedule, I am back this week with not one but two recipes for the 43rd round with the amazing theme of Autumn feast! Thank you @woman-onthe-wing for coming up with such a nice on!

Today I will share my savoy entry and will conclude tomorrow with the sweet one!

I made a warm salad as entry and let's discover it together!

Roasted Pumpkin and Onion Salad with Cinnamon Sugar
DSC_0118.JPG


To make this yummy salad which you will usrely enjoy during this season, you will need :

  • Pumpkin cut in cylinder form
  • Baby onion cut in halves
  • Watercress
  • Radish
  • Roasted cashew
  • Cinnamon + icing sugar mix together
  • Olive oil
  • Butter
  • Salt and pepper
  • Garlic
  • Green apple
  • Thyme
  • Cinnamon stick

DSC_0103.JPG


I started by caramelizing the baby onions with little olive oil.
Season with salt and pepper.

DSC_0106.JPG


Once they have a nice coloration, cover with aluminium foil and let roast in the oven for about 12 minutes or until soft!

DSC_0108.JPG


Then I roasted the pumpkin with butter, olive oil and added thyme, garlic with the skin on and one cinnamon stick.
Season with little salt and pepper and let roast slowly!

DSC_0104.JPG


When the pumpkin are well caramelized and cooked as you can see below, take out of fire and keep in a warm place.

DSC_0105.JPG


And here is all the different preparations needed to do the plating!

  • Green apple cut in batonnet
  • Slice the radish
  • Clean the watercress
  • Cinnamon sugar
  • Roasted onion and pumpkin
  • Cashew nut

DSC_0109.JPG


And here is my plate 95% ready, missing only the cinnamon sugar which you add just before eating the dish!

DSC_0115.JPG


Some more proof photo...not to be forgotten!!! The more you add the better it is!

DSC_0112.JPG


Sprinkle the dish with the cinnamon sugar!

DSC_0117.JPG


Drizzle with a nice lemon dressing and ....Bon appetit my friends!

DSC_0121.JPG


So here we are with my savory entry for this 43rd week of Steemit Culinary Challenge!
Hope you guys enjoyed it!

Stay tuned for the 2nd part with the sweet one coming soon!!!

Do you like it!? Then try it!

By following me you will discover more and more surprising recipes!

Please do comment below if you want some more info!

Should you like the post, kindly upvote and resteem!

Sort:  

Beautiful looking dish (as all of yours are)! One question, when you say you 'roasted' the pumpkin, do you actually mean you roasted it in the oven? Or just cooked it in the pan? Might be the different way we use the word Roast here in Australia?!

Well i in fact cooked in the pan itself, you can roast in the oven too, but in a pan you have more control to have a uniform coloration.

Great thanks for the reply - I thought you pan cooked it but usually the word 'roast' here in Australia is associated with an oven so I was confused for a moment! Thanks for clarifying :-)

Amazing entry chef! Beautiful as always :-)

Thanks so much my friend! I'm waiting to discover yours!

Hey that is really cool having the steemit on a food dish!

Hahaha! This is just a proof photo my friend to give the proof that this is original work! Glad that you liked it!

Woo-hoo! First part accepted...gotta work on the 2nd part now!
Thanks so much my friend!

I am thrilled to have you participating @progressivechef, and look forward to part 2! :-)

That looks really delicious @progressivechef. I have one question for you, what is icing sugar? Is it the same as powdered sugar? And do you have an alternative for the watercress? That's not always available here.

Hello my friend! Yes you are right, powdered sugar same. Only different names.
Instead of watercress you can put arugula leaves or even any types of lettuce you find.

Thank you, I now have all the ingredients you mentioned.

Nice recipe! I love cinnamon (:

Thanks so much for stopping by and appreciating the dish my friend! Oh yes i love cinnamon too! The flavor is just amazing!

Progressivechef i think u best on steem nice it keep upvoted

Thank you for the support my friend. I advise you to take care of your reputation score, if you make spammy comments, you'll very soon be downvoted by many users my friend and it will be very difficult for you after that!

Looks delicious my friend, amazing that you still find the time to enter a contest yourself with your busy schedule :)

Thank you my friend! Oh yes really very busy , but i have to squeeze and find some time participating in my fellow friends contest too!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by progressivechef from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 0.69 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @kid4life. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46