STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #40 : Almond and Rice Horchata - Vegan Mexican Drink!!!

Horchata, pronounced as 'or-CHAH-tah' , is a sweet and refreshing Mexican beverage! It is commonly made with rice and is flavored with cinnamon and sweetened with sugar.

You can find many versions of this drink where nuts, seeds and vanilla too are added, for the Steemit Culinary Challenge of this week, I decided to make my version of this delicious Mexican drink!

With Mexico's hot climate, this drink is served over ice as a cooling beverage! I can assure you it is really refreshing, I just had a long glass!

DSC_0085.JPG

The journey of Horchata

Before looking into the recipe, let us find out a little bit about this drink roots!

Surprisingly we see that horchata was first made in Egypt where chufa nuts were used to make it! Then it made its way to Spain where it is called horchata de chufa.
When finally the Spanish brought horchata to Mexico, the natives replaced the chufa nuts with rice! But you can still find the chufa version in Mexico as well!

Horchata can be found in most Mexican restaurants and is often sold by street vendors in Mexico.

DSC_0076.JPG

To make this refreshing Almond and Rice Horchata, you will simply need :

  • 1/2 cup of whole almonds
  • 1 cup of long grain rice
  • 5 cups of almond milk
  • 3 cinnamon stick
  • Raw sugar to taste
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • Pinch of cinnamon powder

DSC_0050.JPG

Start by firstly soak the rice and almonds in some warm water for approx. 2 hours.
You can soak it overnight in cold water if you have time.

DSC_0055.JPG

Drain the rice and peel the almonds as you can see below.
I discarded the rice water.

DSC_0056.JPG

Place the peeled almond, soaked rice and raw sugar in your blender.
Add the almond milk and blend for 2 minutes.

DSC_0061.JPG

Blend until the rice and almond are well crushed and you have a frothy texture.

DSC_0064.JPG

Pour the mixture in a jar, add the vanilla essence and the cinnamon stick.

DSC_0065.JPG

Let it infuse in the fridge for 4 hours, until it is well chilled and all the flavors diffused in the drink!

DSC_0066.JPG

Pass the horchata through a fine strainer and discard the residues!

DSC_0069.JPG

And here you are , the almond and rice horchata is ready!
You can pour on ice cubes and enjoy right away if you like it more chilled!

DSC_0071.JPG

I added some cinnamon powder on top and it was really very tasty!

DSC_0076.JPG

So voila my dear friend, my personal touch on this Mexican classic drink!
Do you like it!? Then try it!

By following me you will discover more and more surprising recipes!

Please do comment below if you want some more info!

Should you like the post, kindly upvote and resteem!

IMPORTANT NOTE

The SBD made on all my posts moving forward will be used for sponsoring the Steemit Iron Chef 2017!

Anyone wishing to grow the prizes and be a sponsor of this unique contest, please do let me know! You are the most welcomed!

You wish to join and participate?
Check out @steemit-ironchef or follow this link to send your entry!

Thank you!
@progressivechef

chef.jpg

Sort:  

I make this too, but I boil the cinnamon sticks in whatever milk I'm using then blend the milk when it cools down with the rest of the ingredients. I definitely will try it with the almonds next time!

Yes with boiling milk will of course bring much more flavor of the cinnamon out in the drink!
It's more silky with the added almonds and taste better too!

I take the chef's word for it and I will definitely try it this way ;)

What an interesting fun drink! It looks yummy! I enjoyed hearing the history about it too!
Thanks so much for sharing! Have a great day!

Really fun and tasty drink my friend! Do try it some time, you'll love it!

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Oooh yum! This looks great @progressivechef. I could totally see it in a horchata smoothie too! (with coconut, banana, more cinnamon, and maybe a little dark chocolate!) Can you tell I haven't had breakfast yet?? :)

That's an awesome idea my friend and very creative too! Horchata Smoothie...wow!
You could have tried it for your breakfast though! I'm sure that would have been a perfect one!

Yummy! This drink will be good for hot days! :) Good work my friend, have a nice day! <3

You are right my friend, i really enjoyed it well chilled. You are energized too with it!

Lovely-looking horchata @progressivechef! Nice touch with the almonds. I only just heard about this drink due to this week's Mexican theme, and am definitely going to make some for myself. It sounds so delicious and refreshing, and anything with cinnamon gets my tastebuds tingling! Personally I find cold milk to be more effective than cold water in cooling your mouth down after spicy food, so it's no wonder horchata is so popular in Mexico! It's interesting reading that bit of history behind the drink too, so thanks for that :-) Good luck!

You are absolutely right about cold milk after a spicy meal, it really helps your mouth cooling down!
I used to make it the traditional way but this time I really wanted to upgrade it my way and the result was simply heavenly!
The addition of almond really change the taste and make this drink more silky and tasty!

Congratulations @progressivechef! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by progressivechef from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Mmmmm... this looks like an extremely delicious drink :)

Thanks so much for your usual support my friend! Do it some day, it's really a super tasty and healthy drink!

Oh man that looks so yummy! Hey, I want you to know I mentioned you in a post because I noticed you're really good about tagging your photos with Steemit, your name, date, etc. Here's that post: Printable Tagging Cards.

That's a wonderful thing you did my friend! I was actually planning to create one to use too, you made it so easy for me!
Thanks so much for the mention!

Fo sho! You rock, brother. I am really impressed my your content, as well as your genuine care and kindness. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63