Steemit Culinary Challenge #47: Vegan Roasted Pepper Chili over Baked Potatoes

Please join me in welcoming back the #steemitculinarychallenge hosted by the amazing @woman-onthe-wing!  This is only my second entry, but I am excited to join in on this long-running Steemit challenge once again.  I do love the creative theme--"A Hearty Dinner for a Ravenous Rambler".  Leaves a lot of options for all different types of cuisine!

For me, you can't get much heartier than potatoes.  Top those with a generous scoop (or 2...ok, maybe 3) of chili, and we are in business!  I tried to play on the theme even more by roasting my peppers like you would if you were cooking outside over a hot fire after a long day of roaming the countryside. ;)  This whole meal could actually be made outdoors if you are so inclined, though I was not quite so brave in my cooking endeavors this time around!

Vegan Roasted Pepper Chili over Baked Potatoes

  • 2 green bell peppers
  • 2 poblano peppers
  • 2 jalapeno peppers
  • 3 large russet potatoes
  • 2 onions, peeled & chopped
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon chipotle chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne (optional)
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • 2 (15-ounce) cans or about 3 cups of your beans of choice, rinsed & drained
  • 1 (8-ounce) pack tempeh, chopped
  • 1 (14-ounce) can no-salt added fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 1 (14-ounce) can no-salt added tomato sauce
  • 1-2 cups water

First I put the three different types of peppers in a cast iron skillet to roast under the broiler.  If you have a gas stove or are cooking outdoors, roast those babies right over the flame until the skin starts to char.

Once they are cooked, place them in a glass bowl and cover for about 10 minutes.  Then when they've cooled enough to handle, remove the skin and seeds.  Chop the larger peppers, and mince the jalapeno peppers so they get incorporated all throughout the chili.

Set the peppers aside and place your potatoes into the same skillet to bake in the oven.  Since my potatoes were massive, they took about 90 minutes to cook in a 400 degree Fahrenheit oven.  Adjust cooking time based on the size of your spuds.

While your potatoes cook, start on your chili.  Begin by cooking the onions in a large stockpot over medium heat.  I wanted mine really caramelized, so I cooked them for about 20 minutes.

Once the onions are cooked through, add your spices, garlic, tempeh and beans to cook for a few minutes to release the flavor of the spices.

Finally add in your cooked peppers, tomatoes and water.  Bring to a boil, then simmer partially covered for at least 45 minutes.  I let it sit on the stove for the time it took to finish my potatoes.

Once everything is done, taste and adjust the seasonings to your liking.  I tend to go easy on the salt, so feel free to add more as you like.

We cut the potatoes in half, then topped with the chili for a very filling meal!

I hope you guys enjoy my entry!


Sort:  

Congratulations on winning 1st prize @plantstoplanks!

Thank you! So many wonderful things to be thankful for on this day! :)

There are indeed! Very glad you're happy @plantstoplanks, you deserve to be after that good dinner you cooked!

You've really ticked all the boxes there! Now it's getting colder I can think of nothing better than tucking into a plate of this deliciousness of an evening to warm up. Great informative post too, I hope you do well in the challenge! Is there a guideline at all? I might give it a go :)

I'm glad you like my post! You should definitely join in if you can! Here is the link to the rules for the current theme (changes every week) https://steemit.com/steemitculinarychallenge/@woman-onthe-wing/steemit-culinary-challenge-47-new-theme-announcement

https://steemit.com/fruitsandveggiesmonday/@lenasveganliving/2fhfjl-steemit-fruits-and-veggies-monday-competition This one is another great one, as well. You don't have to do a recipe, just post pictures of fruits and/or vegetables and make sure there are no animal products. :)

Yummy and perfect for NYC currently weather! 🌬

Ooh, I bet! Stay warm up there!

Oh my goodness that looks sooooooo delicious and warming @platstoplanks! You were right about nailing the 'hearty'!!! Baked spuds are perfect for chilly days, especially if you've been trekking around the countryside and in need of a hot and filling meal in yer belly :-) Fantastic entry, and vegan too, very versatile. Thanks for your entry!

Thank you! Glad to be a part of this awesome challenge! :)

I wish I have this right now, I can total taste it. My kind of food around this time of year 😊

Nothing like a warm bowl of goodness on a cold day, right? :)

Congrats on 1st Place in SCC #47

Thank you so much! And thank you for being such a generous sponsor!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47