STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #36 GERMAN POTATO SALAD WITH PORTOBELLO SCHNITZELS

89-Optimized.jpg

Even though I am not German, I grew up eating lots of dishes made by my grandmother that were based on German cuisine. The best example is Potato Salad with Schnitzels, one of my all time favorites which I still eat sometimes even now when I am vegan. For example one of our traditional Christmas dinner meals is Potato Salad with breaded and fried fish.

Now you are probably wondering how I can eat this if I am vegan. Well, very easy lol. There are many ways you can substitute meat and other animal products with vegan products and other plant based ingredients. As you can see in this recipe I made Portobello Schnitzels using mushrooms instead of meat and Vegenaise instead of mayonnaise, but there is a lot more.

For example Gardein Company products are absolutely magnificent and if you did not have the opportunity to try them yet, then I highly recommend. They’re especially great for the transitional period when you stop eating meat and you get occasional craving. I guarantee that these products will shun those meat cravings away and you will be totally satisfied and guilt free. Also, these products are fantastic substitute for those occasions when you have your non vegan friends and family over for party.

To learn more about vegan products, please visit my blog:
https://www.lenasveganliving.com/videos

GERMAN POTATO SALAD RECIPE

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

GERMAN POTATO SALAD
Vegan - Gluten Free

INGREDIENTS FOR 6

• Potatoes 10 medium size peeled and diced
• Frozen green peas 1 cup (defrosted)
• Carrot stemmed and diced 1 cup into small cubes
• Fermented Dill pickles 1/2 cup minced
• Onion 1/2 cup finely minced
• Vegan Mayo ½ cup
• Mustard ½ cup
• Black pepper to taste
• Himalayan Pink Salt to taste
• Parsley ½ cup diced & few leafs to garnish

PROCESS
• In the large bowl, gradually mix all the ingredients starting with potatoes and green peas.
• Add the parsley at the end and mix again.
• Serve with Portobello schnitzels.

4-Optimized.jpg

I also made my first cooking video, because I had a little helper Nathan who is already making his own videos on You Tube. I was actually cooking this meal at his parent’s house, my friends and business partners.

PORTOBELLO SCHNITZELS
Vegan - Gluten Free optional

1 process.jpg

INGREDIENTS FOR 6

• Portobello Mushrooms 6 (washed and stems removed)
• Rice flour 1 ½ cup (or all purpose flour)
• Bread crumbs 1 ½ cup (or Panko crumbs if you prefer gluten free)
• Plant based milk 1 ½ cup (I use hemp)
• Apple cider vinegar 1 ½ tbs
• Himalayan Pink Salt to taste
• Black Pepper to taste
• Cooking oil
• Three medium size bowls
• Frying pan
• Paper towels

PROCESS

• In a bowl, whisk your milk with the apple cider vinegar and let it rest for 15 min. You may also add pinch of salt.
• Fill the other two bowls with the rest of the breading ingredients.
• Add salt and pepper into gills (the inner side) of each mushroom.
• Start breading each mushroom by dipping it into flour on each side.
• Second in the milk and third into breadcrumbs.
• You may cut them in half before frying.
• Heat up oil in a frying pan and dip each mushroom in for few minutes on each side. Lower the heat to medium shortly after you have your mushrooms in.
• When ready, place your mushrooms on a plate or tray lined with paper towel to remove the excess oil.

THANK YOU FOR VISITING 🍇🍍🍑8🌸🍑🍍🍉

https://www.lenasveganliving.com/lenas-vegan-living-blog

Sort:  

We also ate this salad in Slovenia only where they call it a French salad. Perhaps the German salad is different only in that it is added to parsley and mustard. All other ingredients are the same. And panning mushrooms are a great substitute for meat. A pan-cheese is also served next to the salad. But for you who are vegan cheese is not allowed.
Very detailed and beautifully displayed! Thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much, I am glad you like it @cyclamen . Yes the potato salad is popular all over the Europe, they are many variations and is originated in Germany the Wikipedia says lol 😊

Looks delicious! Thank you for sharing.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lenasveganliving from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thank you so much 😊

Congratulations @lenasveganliving! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Well, I'll just have another sandwich to get the hungry feeling out... again... Great post! I have to try the portobellos, sounds very yummy! Happy Wednesday!

Thank you so much Remco, I knew this will be something for you. I am glad you like it 🌸💖🌸

Holy Mother of Schnitzel! You have outdone yourself with this presentation! Portobella Schnitzel? I'm in! Seriously. That just sounds like a meal made for a king.

I have already got those potatoes washed and I am ready to prepare them tonight for tomorrow. I cannot figure out if I am hungry or if it looks so good - I have got to have one.

I must tell you that as far as presenting and putting together the blogs, you are one of the most well organized, artistic prop people I know. I think that is half of the appeal (for me) of your recipes and blogs. Anything that looks that good - must be good. We all know that is not true, but, my eyes won't believe me.

However, in saying that, I have tried your recipes and you have never disappointed me yet. I have to admit to cheating on you with @Rem3600 because his are usually so simple (and delicious, I might add!) that I beg him (okay, I really just ask, he is too nice to turn me down!) for the recipe and he gives me the step by step which is way cool.

So, thank you so much! This is always a visit that is worthy of the time. Time well spent and all that.

Thanks, Lena! Upped and Steemed

Holy Mother Denise.............you wrote an essay comment and I sooooooooooooo appreciate it. I just love the way you write, boosting my ego into huge EGO . I am not going to fit in the door if you keep doing that lol. Thank you so much, I am sending huge hugs and good luck with the salad. It is really easy. XOXO

OK, next time, I'll make it shorter! :)) LOL

You don't have to, I always love to read your comments, doesn't matter how long they are 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

This looks awesome!! Yum yum in my tum tum. I love the idea of doing portobello schnitzels!

Thank you so much Dear @jaymorebeet I am glad you like it 😊

Looks delicious..

Thank you so much, I am glad you like it 😊

I do love mushrooms! This sounds really good. Upped and steemed.

Thank you so much Dear Melinda 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33