GRANDMOTHER’S GOULASH for STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #47 🍅🌿🍅

Hello my Dearest Foodies,

Our wonderful @woman-onthe-wing is back and so is STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE. Welcome back everybody 💚😊💚

1821.jpg

For this opening week of a new season (this sounds like a TV show, but I like it, lol), I have a very special recipe for you. It is based on my grandmother’s Hungarian Goulash, flavoured with one of her culinary secrets, Marjoram. She was using it quite often and I do too. To learn more about Marjoram, please follow this link: http://www.home-remedies-for-you.com/herbs/marjoram.html

Although, I am not Hungarian, our Slovakian cuisine has lots of dishes common with our Hungarian neighbors. Goulash, as far as I remember was one of the most popular meals, especially amongst hard working man including my grandfather. So when comes to hearty meals, I don’t think it can get any heartier than goulash and I have no doubt it would be pleasing for a RAVENOUS RAMBLER.

I recomend to be served with bread and one of my super healthy salads, for example Romaine Lettuce with Hazelnuts & Capers. For recipe, please follow this link: https://lenanovak.wixsite.com/vegan-living/emperor-salad-

Besides being hearty, goulash is also very tasty and satisfying; nonetheless, it’s been awhile since I made it last time. As some of you already know, I prefer making whole food plant based dishes without process products and meat substitute, which is essential for this recipe is processed. On the other hand, it is always better than meat, mainly because it’s cholesterol free, hormones free and cruelty free, yet high in protein.

This particular brand I am using is also GMO free and you can find it in Asian supermarkets. Another meat substitute I highly recommend is Gardein, also GMO free with including many gluten free choices as well. For more information please follow this link. https://gardein.com/products/beefless-strips/

1.jpg

1 Collage.jpg

Collage.jpg

GRANDMOTHER’S GOULASH
Veganized Hungarian Goulash with Meat Substitute
Author: Lena’s Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS FOR 6
• Meat substitute 500g (defrosted and cut into smaller pieces)
• Mushrooms sliced 1 ½ cup
• Tomatoes 3 large (diced)
• Red Bell Pepper 1 (diced)
• Carrots 4 (cut to thin wedges)
• Parsnip 4 (cut to thin wedges)
• Potatoes 3 medium size (cut to cubes)
• Onion 1 (diced)
• Garlic 6 cloves or 2 solo garlic
• Oil ¼ cup
• Organic mustard 2tbs
• Organic ketchup 1cup
• Hungarian pepper 1tbs, heap
• Black pepper to taste
• Cayenne pepper to taste (you can make if very spicy if you wish or no spice at all)
• Dry Marjoram 1tbs heap
• Himalayan pink salt to taste.

PROCESS
• Start sautéing the mushrooms in a large frying pan.
• After a minute, add the black pepper and onion.
• Shortly after add the garlic.
• Sauté everything for a minute until golden brown.
• Add meat substitute, mustard and marjoram and stir thoroughly.
• You may add little bit of water through the process, but be careful, make sure is not too much. You don’t want it too watery.
• Sauté for one minute, add the ketchup and stir.
• When ready, add tomatoes with bell peppers, salt and stir again.
• Lower the heat to medium and cover for 15 to 20 minutes until the tomatoes and peppers get soft.
• Bring two cups of water to boil in a separate large pot.
• When ready, add the potatoes with carrots, parsnip and salt.
• Add more water if needed, but make sure it is only a few inches above the veggies.
• Bring water to boil again, lower heat and cook covered for about 20 minutes until soft.
• To make sure all is cooked, poke the veggies with fork.
• When ready, transfer the meaty mixture from the frying pan into the pot with the veggies and mix thoroughly.
• You can add little bit more water if needed, but only if it is absolutely necessary. It’s a goulash, so it must remain thick, but juicy.

1818.jpg

Thank you so much Dear @woman-onthe-wing, @gringalicious and @sirwinchester for ongoing support and generosity.

https://lenanovak.wixsite.com/vegan-living
Lenas-Vegan-Living-V2.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations on winning 3rd place Lena!

Thank you so much Dear @woman-onthe-wing, I really appreciate it. HAPPY THANKSGIVING 🌸💖🌸

You're most welcome Lena, and what a good thing you found time to join in! Happy days :-)

Yes, everything worked out well, I just shared the BLUE TURKEY WINNERS ANNOUNCEMENT TOO. Now I can relax, lol 💖

Thank you so much Dear @woman-onthe-wing, I really appreciate it 🌸💖🌸

I enjoyed your post...more especially, the photo's were very nice as well...Upvoted and following...

Thank you so much, I really appreciate your support 🌺💚🌺

You're very Welcome...It is our pleasure to do our part,.. TY for stopping by. Cheers!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 35.0% @jamesbarraclough upgoat, thanks to @lenasveganliving
It consists of $2.17 vote and $0.33 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lenasveganliving to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

this looks incredible. I can't wait to try this one out. I love how you laid out this recipe.

Thank you so much my Friend I am glad you like it 🌸💖🌸

I'm loving the way you started making recommendations for what to serve with your dishes and providing links to additional recipes. This meal looks sooooo good, really warming and filling and delicious. I love thick rich-looking sauces with chunky veg, and your goulash is making my belly rumble! Stews and casseroles are a first choice for winter over here in Ireland too... especially welcome after being out hiking about in the elements. Perfect for ravenous ramblers Lena, thanks for your entry!

Thank you so much Dear @woman-onthe-wing for your wonderful comment. I am very happy you like it 🌸💖🌸

Wow! Such a great dish! It looks so yummy! My mouth watering! It looks like Moroccan curry.

Oh really? I guess it could be made as curry if you use different spices. However, the flavour of goulash is very different from country 💚😊💚

My mom also making goulash! She specially always do for me portion without meat! Veggies itself in goulash are also good :) I really like your version for vegans. Yummies on plate! Good luck dear @lenasveganliving! 💕

I usually make it with beans, but then is not goulash, lol. Thank you so much my Dear I am happy you like it 😊

Lena this looks so tasty! I have to try it out! Congratulations and happy thanksgiving!!

Thank you so much Dear Maru, I am glad you like it 😊

Ooh yummy! I am resteeming so I don't forget about this one! There are so many good recipes everyone posts, I have a hard time trying to make everyone else's and still come up with my own. I suppose it's a good problem to have so many healthy recipes to try! :)

Thank you so much my Dear, but I know what you mean, lol 😊

Fantastic meal! I'm hungry... yummy! Photos are fabulous dear Lena

Thank you so much Dear Maya 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47