CREAMY BLACK LENTIL for STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #48 ๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒฟ

in #steemitculinarychallenge โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Foodies,

This is my entry for this week culinary challenge hosted by our amazing @woman-onthe-wing ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’š

1.jpg

This may not be the most original lentil recipe; however, it is very tasty, easy to make and highly nutritious soup, perfect for cold winter days. I know the hearty theme was last week, but I am always in the hearty food mood at this time of year.

One thing that is quite unique about this soup is the lentil I am using. Although, you can use regular lentil, I highly recommend trying the black lentil.

01.jpg

Collage.jpg

CREAMY BLACK LENTIL
VEGAN - GLUTEN FREE
Author: Lenaโ€™s Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS for 4
โ€ข Black or regular lentil ยฝ cup
โ€ข Water 2 cups
โ€ข Canned coconut milk ยพ cup
โ€ข Cold pressed coconut oil 1 tbs
โ€ข Sweet potato 1
โ€ข Onion (large ยฝ or 1 medium, diced)
โ€ข Garlic 3 cloves (cut in half)
โ€ข Bay leaf 3
โ€ข Black pepper to taste
โ€ข Himalayan pink salt to taste

PROCESS
โ€ข Wash and rinse your lentils thoroughly, pour them into a pot and add water.
โ€ข Bring it to boil and let it simmer under the lid for 30 to 40min until tender. Add more water if need it.
โ€ข Preheat the oven to 400F.
โ€ข Wash your potato and make incision in the middle.
โ€ข Place the potato in the oven and bake for 30min.
โ€ข In the mean time, sautรฉ onion on a coconut oil until translucent.
โ€ข When ready, insert garlic cloves into potato.
โ€ข Brush the top lightly with oil and place back in the oven for 10 more min.
โ€ข Take out the potato, remove the garlic and cut the potato in half immediately.
โ€ข By using fork and spoon, scoop the potato flesh thoroughly, so there is nothing left on the skin.
โ€ข In a food processor, blend the potato with onion, garlic cloves, salt, pepper and coconut milk until smooth.
โ€ข In a larger pot, mix the blend with lentil (take out the bay leaves first).
โ€ข You may add water or coconut milk if need. The thickness of the soup is based on preference.

Serve with garlic croutons.

2.jpg

Thank you so much Dear @woman-onthe wing, wonderful Guest Judge @babettxx and our amazing sponsors @gringalicious and @sirwinchester.

https://lenanovak.wixsite.com/vegan-living
Lenas-Vegan-Living-V2.gif

Sort: ย 

This post has received gratitude of 2.56 % from @appreciator thanks to: @lenasveganliving.

Great photography. Really highlights the dish

Thank you so much Dear Rina, I am glad you like it ๐Ÿ˜Š

look yummy. Great job.

Thank you so much my Dear @shady ๐Ÿ˜Š

Thank you for sharing! I'm gluten and dairy intolerent! Your recipe looks so yummy!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

I am glad I can help Dear @flamingirl. I have lots of gluten free and dairy free recipes on my blog. Just follow the link at the bottom of this recipe page.

Looks like a delicious belly-warming meal Lena! I love using black lentils, too. I like their texture. :)

Thank you so much my Dear, I am happy you like it ๐Ÿ˜Š

Boy oh boy this looks just the job for a chilly winter afternoon! I'll be having my own homemade tomato soup in a little while, but now I've seen yours I want that instead haha! It's such a beautiful colour, and looks the perfect thickness to hold a swirl of cream and bites of bread! So nutritious, I love it :-) Good luck Lena!

Thank you so much Dear @woman-onthe-wing, I am happy you like it. It would be awesome if whe can do online food swapping, lol. I would love to have some of your delicious tomato soup ๐Ÿ˜Š

I'll pop some in the post for you now Lena. haha :-)

Hmmm! I like the combination with the sweet potato!

Thank you so much my Dear I am glad you like it ๐Ÿ˜Š

Awesome photos and a delicious meal! What time is dinner? :)

Thank you so much Dear @jaymorebeet..............dinner will served at 7pm, lol ๐Ÿ˜Š

Yummy! I just got some lentils in my house too and was thinking of what to do with them. This is something I may have to try as I love soup

Thank you so much my Dear, I am glad you like it ๐Ÿ˜Š

Hi Lena! I like this recipe very much! Thanks so much for sharing it! I wish you have a great night!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67659.51
ETH 3800.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55