STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #43 - SPICED BUTTERNUT AND 'GOATCHEESECAKE' WITH GINGERSNAP CRUST AND APPLE TOPPING

Yesterday I posted my Savory recipe for this week's Steemit Culinary Challenge, hosted by the genius @woman-onthe-wing and generously sponsored by @gringalicious and @sirwinchester.

Now it's time for dessert!

This cheesecake is honey-sweetened and loaded with fall spices. Instead of strictly butter and cream cheese, I've used goat cheese and plain yogurt as well. The result is creamy and light and not overly sweet. With plenty of butternut squash incorporated into the base, the flavors of Fall in this dessert are abundant.

The crust is simple, made of gingersnaps instead of traditional graham crackers. This adds an unexpected pop of flavor in the toothsome crust. The apple topping is reminiscent of apple pie, and the apple cider caramel is otherworldy.


Here's how to make it:


Gingersnap crust

Ingredients

  • 2 cups gingersnaps, blended into crumbs
  • 2 T salted butter, diced

Directions

  • With your hands, combine the butter and gingersnap crumbs

JI6A7561.JPG

JI6A7563.JPG

  • Press the mixture into a 9 inch springform pan.

JI6A7564.JPG

  • Bake at 375F for 7 minutes, just until the crust slightly hardens

Butternut squash cheesecake

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup butternut squash
  • 1 cup soft goat cheese
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 3 T salted butter
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 T cinnamon
  • 1 T pumpkin pie spice mixture
  • 1/4 t ground cloves
  • 1/4 t ground nutmeg
  • 4 medium eggs
  • 1/3 cup honey

JI6A7567.JPG

JI6A7568.JPG

Directions

  • If you're starting with a whole butternut squash, pierce the skin several times and bake at 350F for about 1 hour until cooked through.

JI6A7534.JPG

JI6A7535.JPG

  • Combine all of the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth, plus another 30 seconds.

JI6A7569.JPG

  • Line the springform pan with foil to prevent leaks
  • Pour the batter over the cooled crust

JI6A7570.JPG

  • Bake for about 40-50 minutes at 375F. Then turn the oven off and slightly open the oven door to allow the cake to cool slowly.

JI6A7572.JPG

  • Cooling slowly will help to avoid cracks in the top of your cheesecake. (But even if it does crack, it'll taste the same!)
  • Once the cake is cooled, cover the top and refrigerate it overnight to allow it to set.

Stewed apple topping

Ingredients

  • 3 apples, cored, peeled, and sliced
  • 1 T salted butter
  • 1 T cinnamon

Directions

  • Over medium heat, saute the apples, butter, and cinnamon until the apples have softened and released their juices.

JI6A7573.JPG

JI6A7574.JPG

  • Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator until you're ready to serve the cheesecake.

Apple cider caramel

Ingredients

  • 1 cup apple cider
  • 2 1/2 T butter
  • 1 t cinnamon

Directions

  • Heat cider, butter, and cinnamon over low heat, stirring occasionally, until the cider reduces until it coats the back of a spoon.

JI6A7603.JPG

JI6A7613.JPG

JI6A7614.JPG

  • Store in the refrigerator overnight.

To serve, top the cheesecake with the stewed apples and drizzle with apple cider caramel.


I'm going to have to repeat this for Thanksgiving dessert this year. With no added sugar (except for what's in the gingersnaps), it's cheesecake, hold the guilt!


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please do check out my blog.


All content and images by @jaymorebeet, taken on September 28 & 29, 2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

Oh my god this looks so delicious, UpVote for you!
Does this taste cheesy though, or is it like a sweet cheese?

Thanks @thesteemdream :) It tastes like cheesecake! So it's sweet and creamy, NOT like cheddar or anything hehehe!

ooow this sounds yummy, I am going to save the recipe and do it for Halloween I think it would go down a treat. thanks for this, I never thought to put butternut squash with brandy snaps before. thanks for sharing with us :)

Great idea! I'm going to make it again for Thanksgiving but I might not be able to wait and make it for Halloween instead :)

My dinner stomach is full, but my dessert stomach still has room.

Ah you're fully equipped then! Get some!!

This looks absolutely amazing. The detail you put into documenting all the steps is awesome and my favorite part is it's not loaded with sugar, I'm gonna have to save this recipe.

Yeah for sure - so many desserts are wayy too sweet. Not only does this one not use refined sugar, but I didn't overdo it on the honey, especially since the apple topping and cider caramel is sweet on it's own! Thanks @nickporter :)

This is so yummy. My birthday is coming up and I just told my husband this is the kind of cake I like!

Haha - tell him if he needs help just drop me a line :) Happy early birthday!!

Thanks @jaymorebeet - I won't give him hard time if he can't find me a birthday day like that. Haha

Another great dessert post @jaymorebeet!!! In addition to this amazing dessert, I now have visions of apple pie, pumpkin pie (my favorite), cheesecake and, yes of course ice cream swirling through my head at 10:30PM. Great post.

Thanks @cognoscere! I must agree that this combo is up my alley too!

This is such a tempting dessert my friend...all of my favorites in it!
Wow!

Congratulations on your two delicious-looking entries! Beautiful as usual!

Thanks @offoodandart! That means a lot coming from you :)

This looks amazing, I especially love the photos with your cute tags. It looks like from pastry boutique. 🌸💖🌸

Thanks @lenasveganliving! I got them from a little shop in Japantown of San Francisco on a recent visit. I couldn't resist! I have a bunch more styles too. I'm obsessed with cute stationery things!! :) Also they are stickers if you peel the back off! Yay for cute desk supplies :)

Oh wow, that is fantastic.............it really does makes lovely presentation 🌸💖🌸

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62