Steemit Culinary Challenge #46 : Apple Spice Cupcakes with Maple Buttercream (Refined Sugar Free)

apel cup 2.jpg

This week we celebrate the first birthday of Steemit Culinary Challenge so I said to myself that I cant miss this week's challenge. Good thing is that the theme is apple, which was the last theme of another culinary contest, so I still have the main ingredients on hand. This week, I opted for something easy so that I can easily share with my family, my friends and everyone who wants. So I chose cupcakes. Without any ado, let's get started!

apel cup 3.jpg

Apple Spice Cupcakes

Yield: 14 cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 115 gr unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 200 gr coconut sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 80 ml milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 190 gr all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 2 medium apples, peeled, cut into small chunks. I used Granny Smith.

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 180°C. In a large bowl, whisk melted butter and coconut sugar until well combined.

apel cup 7.jpg

  • Whisk in the egg, one at a time, then add in vanilla extract and milk. Set aside.

apel cup 8.jpg

  • In another large bowl, mix all the dry ingredients. Then slowly pour in the wet ingredients. Stir until well combined.

apel cup 9.jpg

  • Fold in the apples.

apel cup 10.jpg

  • Fill the cupcakes liners with the batter 3/4 of the way full. Bake for about 21 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

apel cup 11.jpg

  • Leave to cool completely on the wire rack before decorating.

apel cup 12.jpg

Maple Buttercream

Ingredients

  • 226 gr unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 94 gr coconut powdered sugar (I made my DIY coconut powdered sugar, recipe below)
  • 60 ml maple syrup
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions

  • Place the butter, powdered sugar and salt in a bowl of a stand mixer fitted with paddle attachment, mix them well until creamy.

apel cup 15.jpg

  • Add in maple syrup, continue mixing until smooth.

apel cup 16.jpg

DIY Coconut Powdered Sugar

Ingredients

  • 150 gr coconut sugar
  • 1 tbsp arrowroot powder

Directions

  • Place all the ingredients in a dry blender, if you dont have one like me, I used my food processor then moved to blender with small container. It will take quite some time. After blending, I sifted the sugar and put it back in the blender again. It's hard to reach the consistency of powdered sugar without dry blender, but it's ok for me.

apel cup 13.jpg

Assembling

Put the buttercream in a piping bag with your desired piping tip. Pipe on top of the cupcakes. I decorated my cupcakes with a small rosette just like that. I dont want to put too much buttercream on top of the cupcakes this time :-)

apel cup 6.jpg

I was indecisive when it came to choose the piping tip. I have tried Wilton tip 2A. Finally, I changed my mind and was back to my classic piping tip, 2D from Wilton.

apel cup 5.jpg

Before signing off, I'd like to say: Happy Birthday Steemit Culinary Challenge!!!! All the best for the next journey. I'm glad to be part of this amazing competition. Thank you for @woman-onthe-wing for hosting this contest and for her amazing work for SCC.

If you like my post, please dont hesitate to upvote and resteem. Thank you for reading.

Cheers,
signature-fonts

All work and images are original and mine. Photos were taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000.

Sort:  

Ohhhhh! It looks so yummy! I love the cupcakes with butter cream, i like how you decorate the top like flower with the cream. I wish you good luch in this contest.

Yes, this flower decoration is my fav one, always end up decorating flowers on top of my cupcakes :-D Thanks my dear for you endless support! :-)


This post was randomly resteemed by @funaddaa!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 3700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

Beautiful food post!! Good luck in the challenge

Thanks @gringalicious for the support! You're one of my fav food blogger in Steemit and you're such an inspiration to me :-)

That looks delicious!! Does it taste a lot like Cocnut because of the ingredients you used?

It's indeed delicious. Everyone loved it!!! You won't taste the coconut flavors. Coconut sugar tastes more like brown sugar :-)

This post received a 7% vote by @eternal.witness courtesy of @Kubby from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Nice pictures, it makes all the food look tasty

They do tasty. 25 pieces of them have gone fast :-D

This cream looks great! :o Give me one cupcake pls!

The buttercream is super good with coconut sugar. But it's not vegan :-(

Sorry for the delay in acknowledging your entry, the comments don't want to stick this week! I am just quickly posting this generic comment on each entry so you know I've seen it. Thank you! :-)

Indeed, the comments dont want to stick recently. Thanks for acknowledging Joanna!

Your precision and attention to detail, combined with your fabulous recipes and photography skills, makes reading your posts so enjoyable. These apple cupcakes are gorgeous and look delicious!

Thanks @jaymorebeet for your nice words! Your recipe and your food photography are also beautiful! I always enjoy reading your articles too :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58119.05
ETH 2357.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36