STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #43 : Spicy Pumpkin Fries with Avocado Tahini Dip - Savory Entry

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

pumpkin fries.jpg

Hello,

I am back again for submitting my savory entry on Steemit Culinary Challenge. I opted for an easy peasy dish because I dont have a lot of time. I'm going to work soon so I made a small portion of my entry. I did try it and it tasted good. I'll definitely make it again in a big portion. Without any ado, let's get started.

SPICY PUMPKIN FRIES

Ingredients

  • 1 small sugar pumpkin
  • 3 tsp corn starch
  • 2 tsp virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp paprika powder
  • 1 tsp chili flakes
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt

Methods

  • Slice off the top of the pumpkin, lay it upside down and cut it in half. Scoop the seeds out. Dont throw the seeds out, you may bake it and have it for snack time or for another use.
  • Cut the pumpkin into strips, soak in cold water for minimum one hour or overnight.

pumpkin fries 1.jpg

  • Preheat oven to 200°C and line your baking tray with parchment paper or silicone baking mat. Set aside.

  • Drain the pumpkin strips and pat dry with kitchen paper.

pumpkin fries 2.jpg

  • In a clean bowl, toss the pumpkin strips with the rest of ingredients. Mix it well. Make sure that the strips are well coated. Spread on the baking tray.

pumpkin fries 3.jpg

pumpkin fries 4.jpg

  • Bake for 20 minutes. Flip halfway through. Be careful when flipping the fries, at this stage, the fries are very soft. Leave it in the oven (oven off) for about 5-10 minutes.
  • Top the fries with coriander leaves and sprinkle of salt.

AVOCADO TAHINI DIP

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1 small clove garlic
  • 3 tsp tahini
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • pinch of cumin ground
  • pinch of salt

Methods

  • Cut the avocado into half, pit them and take out the flesh.
  • Using blender or food processor, throw in all ingredients. Pulse until it becomes smooth paste.

pumpkin fries 5.jpg

  • Serve immediately or cover with plastic wrap. Set the plastic wrap touching the surface to the dip until it's ready to use.

pumpkin fries 6.jpg

It's a wrap! Finally I can submit my entries for SCC. It felt like I was in a race :-D After having brownies for my breakfast, I had these fries for my second breakfast, hehe.. It's as good as potato fries. Yumm...

pumpkin fries 7.jpg

If you like this post, please dont hesitate to upvote and resteem. Thank you for reading :-)

Cheers,
signature-fonts

All content and photos are original and mine. Photos were taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000.

Sort:  

This looks incredible! We grow a lot of squash on the farm, as well as avacados, I think we will be trying squash fries for sure!

They were incredible. Please have a try! You wont be disappointed :-) Oh wow, envy you! Been wanting to grow my own fruits and veggies but it wont be possible because I dont have any garden nor balcony. Anyway, thank you for stopping by @ecoinstant! :-)

Keep cooking @ikaputri3! Maybe we'll see you soon in an upcoming challenge ;p

Will do! Looking forward to seeing you in the next round :-)

Hi my friend, i love them so much! So we can replace the fried potatoes with pumpkin 🎃, i never try them, it's good idea .
Good luck my friend.

Yes, it's surprisingly good my friend! You have to try it since now pumpkin is in season :-)

Your fries and dip sound like a great combination @ikaputri3! And I love that they’re spicy! This is definitely a snack I’d enjoy.

Good luck on the competition!

We're in the same team then! I love spicy food too :-D I can say that I couldn't live without chili, haha.. Anyway, thank you @offoodandart! :-)

nice post plz Upvote me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47