Steemit-Culinary Challenge: (onions) Curried Creamed Eggs in Onion Cups

in #steemitculinarychallenge6 years ago (edited)

This dish is Curried Creamed Eggs in Onion Cups Nested on Cornbread Patties
The ingredients for this recipe are:
4 large onions
6 boiled eggs
4 cornbread patties
Curried Cream Sauce
Onion1.jpg

Each step will include the complete recipe and instructions.

Cornbread Patties:

1 1/2 cups cornmeal
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup coconut oil
1/2 cup milk
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 egg.
1 tsp butter

Mix all but the butter together. Melt butter and form 4 patties of mixture in a skillet. (I could only form 2 at a time). Cook like a pancake, turning once, till toasty golden.onion7.jpg

4 large onions Peel onions and barely slice the root end off so they will sit upright in a deep pan of water. Cover pan and simmer about 45 minutes . Test for tenderness with a long skewer. When done, cool to touch and remove the inner rings, leaving 3-4 layers on the outside.
on3.jpgonion9.jpg

Curried Cream Sauce

2 Tablespoons butter
2 Tablespoons flour
2 cups mik or half and half
Salt and Pepper to taste
1 tsp. curry powder
1 tsp. garam masala
1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp. paprika
1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes

6 boiled eggs
chopped onions that were removed from the centers of the whole onions

Make a cream sauce with the butter, flour and cream. Add seasoning to your taste. Once it becomes thicker, add the chopped boiled eggs and chopped onions .onion8.jpgonion10.jpg

Place an onion onto a cornbread patty. Fill the onion with the curried egg sauce. Garnish with a sprinkling of paprika, red pepper flakes, and chopped green onion. Serve. onio f.jpg

NOTE: If you have left-overs, the cornbread patty does not keep well. To use them the next day, crumble them up into a skillet. Pour a little chicken stock over the crumbles and stir till all is heated. Reheat the onion in the oven or microwave and serve atop the crumbled cornbread.

Sort:  

Hey there @grannycooks... I nearly missed this entry as you titled it Steemit Iron Chef and that is a completely different competition! You might want to edit the title and put Steemit Culinary Challenge instead so other people don't miss it :-)

Well, I have to say these look absolutely amazing.... Is this your own creation as I never seen anything like them before? They look so tasty... I love onions and think this would be delicious combination of flavours and textures... I want to try it! You presentation is beautiful too, with the garnish as finishing touch making it look special :-) This is a wonderful final entry for the last ever SCC, thank you and good luck!

Hello, winged woman. Thanks for this tip. I have gone in and edited the entry. Yes, this is my own creation. They were very good. The only thing I would change next time I make them is to add more curry. I really like strong flavors and the curry and masala was a little bit of a whisper. I want that curry to SHOUT at me. I am so glad you like the presentation. My dish would not hold all 4, and the next large thing I had (a cake platter was much too large. My husband is the photographer. He is so much more steady than I am on the button. Thanks again for your encouragement.

Well they were great, what a fabulous creation! I too love strong curry flavour so I'll make sure to add plenty when I make this... which I'm going to as I can't get the imagined taste out of my head for some reason! Maybe it's that last photo, it's really appealing :-) I hope to see you in the new year when I start my next project! All the best for the holidays and new year @grannycooks :-)

Thank you, mswing. You bet I will be here next year. I do not have the decorative "flair" some of the other participants have, but I'll throw my hat in the ring. Have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87