STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #47 - Dal Pita: A Mauritian Classic lentil recipe!

Hello my dear friends of Steemit!

After discovering the theme of the current Steemit Culinary Challenge organized by @woman-onthe-wing, I directly got the idea of sharing a very tasty classical Mauritian dish called : Dal Pita!

Being so busy lately with all the happenings here, I really got late to send this entry...I am not sure if there's still time for the deadline, but I still want to share this one with you, as I am sure you will all enjoy this dish!

So without losing too much time, let me show you how to make this dish!

DSC_0028.JPG


I started firstly by making a dough with simply flour and warm water!

Knead well till very soft! Let to sit for 30 minutes!

DSC_0006.JPG


Then you will need the following:

  • Black lentils
  • Yellow lentils
  • Coriander
  • Onion
  • Tomato
  • Thyme

DSC_0007.JPG


And also:

  • Water
  • Garlic paste
  • Cumin powder
  • Clarified butter
  • Salt
  • Turmeric powder
  • Ginger paste
  • Oil

DSC_0009.JPG


In a cooking pot, I heated oil and added all the above veggies and spices!
I let it cook for about 2 minutes!

DSC_0011.JPG


Then I put in the yellow and black lentils!
I then covered it all with the water!

DSC_0014.JPG


Check the seasoning and cover the cooking pot!
Let it cook till the lentils are soft!

DSC_0015.JPG


While the lentils mixture is cooking, start rolling thinly the dough!

Cut it in small pieces as you can see below!

You can make different forms with the small cut dough! I made some moneybags/flowers too!

DSC_0020.JPG


When the lentils are cooked, add the clarified butter!

DSC_0022.JPG


Then put one by one the cut dough in the lentils mixture!
Cook for further 12 minutes and the dish is ready!

DSC_0023.JPG


This is how the cooked dish will look like in your cooking pot!

DSC_0026.JPG


Well all you got to do then is to just put on a plate and enjoy!
I had this with some spicy tomato salsa! It was just heavenly!

DSC_0028.JPG


So voila my friends, my entry in to this week's SCC! I hope you like it!

When I came first time in Mauritius, I discovered this dish and directly fell in love with the amazing taste! Have you ever seen this dish anywhere else in the world?

Please do leave a comment below and let me know your views!

If you enjoyed the post, an upvote would be most welcomed!

Thank you!
@creativewoman

Sort:  

تبدو أكلة لذيذة ما إسمها

سميتها دال بيتا اكلة هندية راها لذيذة بزاف هي أكلة بحال شكل ديال تمحالبت ولكن بالعدس.

It looks delicious and looks like my favorite dish :

I Already Make a Post about The Best 5 Foods in Morocco here
You will Find many Healthy & Delicious foods ^^
Thank you for sharing :) following you

Thank you very much for stopping by my friend! This one call it rfissa already i make one post about it, it's my favorite dish, it's not just me all the Moroccan love it, and dal pita also very yummy, vegetarian dish.

This looks so delicious- all of those seasonings and the wide noodles to capture all of the flavors. Yum!

Hi my dear ! Am very happy that you like it, these not noodles, it's dough I prepared with white flour, sorry, am so busy these days with my husband that's why i can't check out the comments, and my blog also .

Oooh @creativewoman this looks super delicious! I think I would like the food from your culture very much as every recipe I see of yours are extremely appealing! Sorry this was too late to be considered for prizes, but I re-steemed and included it in my winners post anyway so others would get chance to see it! :-)

Hi my dear! Sorry for reply you late, am so busy these days with my husband, I hope i can get the time to post my food in my blog, thank you for your nice comments and great compliments.

Wow, I have never seen a dish like this before, it looks really comforting and tasty. Thank you for introducing me to something new, @creativewoman!

Thank you very much for your kind words! Really i appreciate them.

I always love all the colors in your cooking pot my Dear........that is a first indicator how delicious the meal must be.🌸💖🌸

Thank you for stopping by my dear! Am glad that you like it, sorry because i reply you late, these days am so busy with my husband in his restaurant, when i will be little free i will return as normal.

You are very welcome my Dear, I was wondering why I don't see you as much. Nevertheless, It's good that the restaurant is busy 😊

Wow! This looks delicious! Why did I miss it until now?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58702.17
ETH 2301.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46