Steemit Culinary Challenge: Extremely Healthy Red Bean Brownie ! 🍫🍪

Today I would love to present my entry for Steemit Culinary Challenge held by @woman-onthe-wing ! It is my first time taking part in that challenge! Oh, wait.... in any challenge on Steemit! I've beend following it ever since I joined Steemit and today I decided to make my entry as well! The topic is perfect for me, as a dietitian - if I bake, I bake healthy cakes!

On sunday I sat down with my morning coffe and a piece of freshly baked Bean Brownie, scrolled down the wall on Steemit and bumped on this week's topic. Red Bean Brownie I have just baked and was really proud of, perfectly suited it, so I decided to take the chance, bake another one and share that lovely recipe with you!

The Brownie I made is extremely healthy, there is no added sugar and even no sugar substitutes! The dates are responsible for the sweetness. Believe me or not but there is also no wheat of any kind added! So it's even gluten and lactose free. The cake is easy to make, used ingredients are 100% natural and it only takes about 10 minutes to prepare it! You can eat even a few pieces and should not feel remorse at all! Simply delicious, even my brother and father who are not fans of my "fit bizzare recipes" claimed they love that one. Its main ingredient is red bean and you would have never guessed that tasting it, simply amazing! 😀

So without further ado, here it is:

Red Bean Brownie

Ingredients

  • 800g of red beans (canned or cooked and cooled)
  • 3 eggs
  • 200g of dried dates
  • 40g (2 full tablespoons) of cacao powder
  • 50g of vegetable oil ( I used olive oil)
  • 1 teespoon of baking soda (you can skip it)

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celcius. Soak dried dates in a glass of hot (even boiled) water.

  • Drain off the beans if you use canned ones and rinse under running water.

  • Get the dates out of water and put them in a small mixer. Save the water for later!

  • Mix the dates until you get a smooth consistency. You can add a few tablespoons of water left from soaking if needed for a better mix. This is how it should look like.

  • Now it's time to blend all the ingredients together. Add eggs, beans, dates paste, baking soda, cacao powder to a bowl and simply mix.

*

  • Now add olive oli. If needed you can add more water from the dates soaking to get a looser consistency.

  • Ok, when it's smooth and there are no lumps you can place it into a baking mold.

Now it has to sit in the oven for about 40 minutes to an hour. Now you can prepare a topping! I'm really sorry I didn't do a making of my chocolate topping but it was an experiment and I was not sure what I'll do. All in all, it went out well and all you need to do is to dissolve coconut oil, add cacao powder and some dates paste. Anyway, you can skip that part as well, the cake is really tasty itself!

This is how it looks like:

just taken out of the oven

when I turned it up side down

and decorated with the topping and some almonds.

TASTY!

Nutritional values:

1 portion (out of 10) provides:

210 kcal
9,6 g of protein
24 g of carbohydrates
8,5 g od fats (unsaturated so the healthy ones)

There is no need to cheat with this cake! Enjoy and follow me for more healthy recipes! :)

Sort:  

YES YES YES 😂😂 Absolutely AMAZING ❤️❤️❤️ Upvoted and resteemed!

Thank you ! :)

Oh my gosh!!!! I am so making this for my very fat and sugar conscious family for the holidays. Printed and keeping this one, thank you! Up and Steemed

Thanks you for the upvote, resteem and a really nice comment! I am sure your family will love it. Don't tell them what is inside, make them try to guess! :)

Great idea, I will ask them if they can figure out the ingredients.

Very interesting mixture! You are absolutely innovative, red beans!!
The result is stunning too!! Have you got this recipe from your dream?!

Thanks for sharing and making people very happy and healthy!

Cheers.

It is really innovative indeed! You would have never guessed what is inside if I gave you a piece of this cake to taste :) thank you for the comment!

Ever consider a unique recipe book for people who are bored with the usual!
I will buy a copy!
Cheers.

Real innovative recipe @anna.urbanska, looks absoutely delicious :)

I hadn't heard of red kidney bean brownies... until now! Wow @anna.urbanska, I'll have to try these out for myself. Thanks for sharing and good luck in the challenge!

Wow what a wonderful recipe @anna.urbanska! In fact I've been debating making some kind of chocolatey cake for my husband's birthday in 2 weeks, and now I'm definitely making him this! The sponge looks perfect - moist yet with that cracked surface just like any great brownies I've ever eaten :-) I love the way it looks too with the almonds and chocolate topping. I honestly do love your recipe and healthy ingredients and will make it for sure... thank you, and good luck!!!

This looks so yummy!! I love bean brownies. I make them quite often :)
Great pictures, too, by the way :) Congratulations!

1st prize for your awesome healthy cake! Congratulations @anna.urbanska!

Thank you ! 😊😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62932.98
ETH 3353.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47