🍲 STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #45 - Plant Powered Buddha Bowl with Homemade Avocado Dressing 🍲

DSC_0074.JPG

Good morning fellow steemians. I hope you all had a great start of the new week. I sure did... I bought a new camera since my old one broke down during our Europe trip. Though I'm still learning how to use it I'm super excited with the new Nikon D5600.

Thank you all so much for your ongoing support which made it possible to buy this new camera! Fully paid by steem :) Now that I have a better camera I am also planning to take up a food photography course to make yummier looking pics. So I will have to invest in some proper lightening too I reckon... but first things first. Getting to know the new little toy!

The first experiment.... a Buddha bowl. Thanks, @lenasveganliving for this wonderful theme. Buddha bowls are a regular at our home to clear out the fridge before going to the market. I love the color they bring to the kitchen table and they always turn out so yummy!

Also big thank you to @woman-onthe-wing and all our fantastic sponsors for making this challenge possible!

Plant-powered Buddha Bowl


Ingredients


Roasted veggies


Pumpkin, chopped
Cooked chickpeas
Garlic powder
Cumin powder
Dried oregano
extra virgin olive oil
Sea salt and black pepper to taste

For the avocado dressing


Half an avocado
sesame oil
Lime
Sea salt and black pepper to taste

For the Buddha bow


Red cabbage, shredded
Cucumber, chopped
Cherry tomatoes, halved
Pomegranate seeds
Cooked hulled buckwheat
Sunflower seeds
Hemp hearts
Mix of lettuce and arugula

DSC_0047-1.jpg

DSC_0035.JPG

Directions


  1. Preheat the oven to 200C or 400F.
  2. Add pumpkin, chickpeas, and herbs to a baking sheet. drizzle with a little oil. Toss to coat and roast for 20 to 30 minutes or until the pumpkin is soft and slightly browned.
  3. Meanwhile, add all dressing ingredients to a small blender or bowl and blend/mash until smooth. Add water if needed to improve consistency. Set aside.
    4.Cut all other ingredients.
  4. Add salad greens in the bottom of a bowl and top with roasted pumpkin and all the other ingredients to a bowl. Finish with dressing, sunflower seeds, and hemp hearts.

DSC_0025.JPG

DSC_0054.JPG

DSC_0060.JPG

DSC_0099.JPG

DSC_0094.JPG

Enjoy 😉

signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

It looks very delicious. Great job @amy-goodrich

Thanks @muhajir. Glad you like it!

Looks yummy, I am going to search my cabinets
for a unique bowl as a symbol of nourishment and gratitude!
This is going to be fun!

Don't forget to document the process and enter the challenge too! You have one day left ;) Here's the link for more info: https://steemit.com/steemitculinarychallenge/@woman-onthe-wing/steemit-culinary-challenge-45-new-theme-announcement-50-sbd-weekly-in-prizes

This is a bowl of joy. Great combination of flavors and textures! Also, your avocado dressing sounds incredible! Yum yum!!

Thanks @jaymorebeet! These colorful dishes indeed bring a lot of joy and healthy nutrients. We are hooked to avocado dressings. So yum!

Congrats on the new camera my friend! I am sure we will get to see great shots from you soon!
Now I understand why I got a big bowl of different salad from my wife 2 days back...it's for the SCC! I was really not aware of Buddha bowl before.
Good luck my friend!

Thanks @progressivechef! That's probably what it was. Hehe. don't you love it how steemit is creating a buzz in so many kitchens around the world!

avo dressing?? nice!

Avo dressing is the best! Thanks for stopping by @doitvoluntarily!

That looks an amazing and so healthy! Thanks for sharing @amy-goodrich :)

Thanks my friend. have a blessed day!

You are welcome & you too :)

Gorgeous bowl there Amy! A wonderful selection of cooked and raw veggies, tastes and textures and colours... I think the close-up photos of the pumpkin and chickpeas looks so appetising (I just had to say!) and then when you added the pomegranate seeds they look like beautiful little pink pearls... just delightful! I had a buddha bowl for my dinner tonight, but I think yours looks tastier! Oh - also your new camera seems great as they're clear photos with lovely colour. I know what you mean about sorting out proper lighting... I am pretty stuck now it's dark so early and all my food photos look orange now! Good luck Amy :-)

Thank you so much! Your comments always mean a lot to me. I hear you. It gets dark around 6-6.30 pm here year round. Gonna do a food photography course once I caught up with all my work and when we are in the capital I'm gonna look for some decent lighting. Have a lovely day ;)

I'd love to do a food photography course... how exciting for you! I didn't realise you lose the light so early where you are... You kinda need proper lighting then! I just want to say thanks for continuing to enter and support the challenge for all this time... It means a lot to me and is actually kinda comforting to see your entries pop up, I don't know how else to describe it! Have a lovely weekend Amy :-)

Aww, love being part of your community and the SCC. Like you said no words to describe. Though we haven't met you sure are one of my fav steemit people. As for the course, there are tons of them to be found online. If I find a good one I'll let you know ;) But first looking for a house and moving all our stuff down to the coast and finishing new website... need more hours in a day hehe

You're so lovely Amy with all the nice things you say to me :-) I wrote a big long reply to your other comment about my plans to promote health more, and I dunno maybe Steemit is still having technical issues but it all disappeared! Sigh. Am off to bed!!! Hope you had a good weekend

ღ ღ ღ Nighty Night you lovely lady! Damn steemit. Hope they fix it soon! Got a few comments lost in the system too grrr. Nothing we can do! If you need any help in promoting a healthy lifestyle you know where to find me ;)

you made me so hungry. I have to go eat now!! :)

Hehe. Hope you have some yummies laying around ;) Thanks for stopping by and enjoy your meal!

I did. I had a squash and cooked it with curry and added lots of greens. Yummy :)

Congratulations Amy! Gorgeous bowl, very well deserved win :-)

Ohh thanks! Another great honor to make it in the top 3. Looking forward to the cookbook and helping spreading awareness for whole foods.

Congrats on 2nd place in the challenge. Top notch food blogging as always from the great @amy-goodrich

Thanks for all your support! You rock!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46