STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE # 25: Veggie Lasagna with Basil Almond Ricotta

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

While I’m not a 100% percent vegan, plant-based dishes are my favorite. I love the creativity and colors you can put in these dishes. So for this week’s SCC, I decided to combine my passion for veggie food with my favorite non-vegan comfort food, lasagna!

While I have made many vegan-style lasagnas in the past, this one turned out so good! It might even be the best one I have ever made. The secret, almond powder instead of soaked cashew nuts! Yum!

Ingredients (serves 3)

9 sheets lasagna noodles
3/4 cup grated cheese or Panko breadcrumbs

For the veggie mix

1 cup onion, finely chopped
2 clove of garlic, minced
2 cup zucchini, finely chopped
2 cups eggplant, finely chopped
2 cups carrots, finely chopped
3 cups tomatoes, chopped
¾-1 cup water
3 cups fresh Cambodian Spinach, shredded
sea salt to taste
black pepper to taste
1 tsp dried rosemary
2 tsp dried oregano

DSCF2215-s.jpg

For the basil almond ricotta

1 cup almond powder
2-3 clove garlic
1/2 cup nutritional yeast or Parmesan cheese
2 cups tulsi or holy basil
1.5 cup fresh Cambodian parsley
3/4 cup unsweetened coconut milk
3/4 lime or lemon juice only (use less if using lemon)
black pepper to taste
sea salt to taste

Instructions

  1. Heat cooking oil in a pot or large skillet over medium heat. Sauté onions for 2-3 minutes. Then add garlic and cook 5 minutes more. Stir regularly
  2. Add carrot, eggplant, and zucchini. Stir well and cook for 5 minutes more. Stir regularly.
  3. Add tomatoes, water, sea salt, rosemary, oregano, and black pepper. Stir well, cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes or until the tomatoes fall apart and start to form a sauce. Stir regularly and add more water if needed. Last 5 minutes, add kale and cook until wilted.
    DSCF2225-s.jpg
  4. Preheat oven to 375°F or 190°C.
  5. Meanwhile, add all almond ricotta ingredients to a small blender or food processor and process until creamy, cheesy paste.
    DSCF2229-s.jpg
  6. When the veggie sauce is ready, layer 1/3 of it on the bottom of an oven-safe dish, then add a pasta layer, followed by ⅓ of the cashew cheese. Repeat layering and finish with panko breadcrumbs.

DSCF2234-s.jpg

  1. Cook in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until noodles are soft and ricotta cheese-panko layer has browned. If not browned enough, grill for the last few minutes.

DSCF2280-s.jpg

Bon Appetit!!

Special thanks to all sponsors, @jrcornel, and @woman-onthe-wing for making this all happen.. and thank you steemians for your ongoing support!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI MX-1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

Looks delicious. Resteemed

Thank you very much @snooway!

Looks really good!

Was very yum indeed! Thanks for your comment!

Oh my words that looks tremendous....bookmarked. This is must make.

It sure was delicious! Happy bellies around the kitchen table. I'm sure you'll love it too! Enjoy!

Oh my, this looks sooooooo good I want to eat the whole thing right now - no joke! I have experimented quite a bit myself with veggie lasagnas and I have to say this looks exceptional. Not only in taste (I can imagine very easily) but in appearance too. Wow, what a stunner! Much luck!!!

TY @woman-onthe-wing for your kind words and ongoing support! Much appreciated! If you love vegan lasagnas then this is def a must try. My dinner guests (hubby and friend) were quite happy with it!

I'm sure they were asking for second helpings!!!

No leftovers this time :-)

Amy you make magic once more! good luck :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.76 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Ohh pleasant surprise after a few days off!

I've never tried a veggie lasagna, but I think you have just sold me a reason to now try it. Only if you make it of course :) That looks wonderful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54