Green Smoothie of the Day: Brain-boosting Green Drink To Help Me Pick The SCC Winners of the Vegan Cooking Week

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

Thank you all so much for the lovely vegan dishes you all created this week! I'm so proud of you all! I know some of you are not used to vegetarian or vegan cooking, yet you all presented the most beautiful and colorful dishes. I loved it how this theme inspired families to eat more and veggies only! And they loved it! Even the kids ate their veggies without complaining!

May it inspire you all to go at least one day in the week vegan! Like I often mentioned I'm not 100 percent vegan I eat meat or fish on occasion and I cook 2-3 meals with meat or fish for my hubby every week! Everybody is on a different path in their life and I'm not the person that will push or force you into certain types of diet, but I will try and push you towards eating more vegetables. That's for sure.

So for all people who are not vegan, yes I'm talking to the vegetarians too, will you at least pick one day in the week, whether that is Meatless Monday or Veggie Thursday, and don't eat any animal products that day? If every single person in the world would do that, we would live is such a better and healthier place. So who is with me?

And of course if you want go meatless for more than one day, go for it! The entire planet will thank you for it ;-)

I just had this amazing smoothie to energize my body and start picking the 4 winners of the SCC of this week! Good luck to you all and thanks for making this a real challenge for me to pick the winners! You all did an amazing job...

DSC01424.JPG
Sorry for bad quality pic! I was in a hurry to start the judging so this was quickly taken with my phone instead of my camera

Ingredients (serves 2)

1 banana
1.5 cup blueberries
1 apple, cored
2 cups fresh chard
2 tbsp hemp hearts
2 cups unsweetened almond milk
2 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil

Directions

  1. Blend chard and almond milk until smooth. Add remaining ingredients and blend again. If you have a high-speed blender you can throw in everything at once. If the smoothie is too thick for you, add more almond milk or water.
  2. Top with chia seeds, goji berries, flax seed, hemp hearts, etc., if you like.

Let the judging begin! have a great day!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH OUKITEL C5 PRO


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

it looks good and thank you for posting

Thanks @mattyjbfitness for your ongoing support ;) Much appreciated!

hi emy how r you awesome post thank you for posting i hope you also like and share my post:)

Only ingredients I love. I'd have to try. I never thought of putting almond milk in my smoothie. I will follow you because you are full of good idea and that like me you pay attention to the nature

Thanks @izbing! I love almond milk in a smoothie and I hope you do too. Enjoy ;) Have a great day!

I use coconut mi;k now in all my preps Its so good!

It sure is! And we're right at the source hehe

Hey Amy gave you an upvote as usual .. enjoyed your post.. I am a vegetarian .. we became vegan for a while. I do have milk in a latte and in baking .. never could I sit and drink a glass of milk that is.. it is so strange. haha .. have a great day my friend. :) The recipe sounds wonderful.. yummy

Thank you so much @rebeccabe! I really appreciate your support and kind words! I'm a flexitarian. Though I rarely eat animal products!

Super. Upvoted your post.

Good luck to the SCC contestants and I try to eat only vegan a few days a week! What kind of almond milk do you use?

The one that comes out of my blender hehe ;-) You just have to blend soaked almonds with water and strain in cheesecloth or nut milk bag and you have almond milk! You can sweeten with cinnamon or dates. Maple syrup works too. Works with all nuts and seeds. Sometimes I buy almond milk in the store, but Cambodia doesn't have a lot of convenience foods or brands. that's why I prefer my own or use fresh coconut milk instead!

Hi game partner :)
I'm vegetarian, actually!

Ohh cool I'm a flexitarian, I still eat meat or fish on very rare occasions and cook it in 2-3 meals a week for my husband! Send you a message earlier on the teaming up thing... read your message wrong and unless you pick the red berries too, I'll be going solo. Sorry for that ;) Would still love to team up though, you seem like an interesting guy! If not a team I'll be definitely be following your none-steemit apocalypse adventures ;) Sorry but I really think the purple berries are a trap... and I'm certain (well at least 90 percent the red ones are edible (Wintergreen berries))

So many good recipes posted, so great to see!

And you've got a meatless Monday-Sunday girl over here ;)

Thank you so much @harrietbradley ღ ღ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77