STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #39: Banana Quinoa Baby Mash (dairy and gluten free)

Hey foodies!

If I was a baby I wouldn't get enough of this Banana Quinoa Baby Mash. It's so delicious. Because I'm no mother I tried it out myself as I created this recipe. It's a perfect sweet but still healthy treat which is also suitable for adults.

This Banana Quinoa Baby Mash is ideal for babies older than 7 months. Because there's no diary and gluten, this recipe is perfect for babies that are at risk to develop allergies. In general this recipe constitutes as the perfect beginning to start to feed your baby solid food because there are no allergens in it and therefore it's well-tolerated.

As I thought of the ingredients of a suitable baby food I came up with fruits and cereals (or pseudo cereals) because the challenge said that you should be able to stand behind your idea in a way that you could eat it with appetite. Complementary feeding also consists of vegetable and meat or fish purees. I know that. But that's nothing for me. So I decided to make a fruit and cereal mash.

Next, I wanted to create a recipe which is well-tolerated and suitable for all babies but also provides sufficient amounts of important nutrients. So, I came up with the idea to use quinoa which is a pseudo cereal which means that it includes no gluten. Also, it is packed with plant protein and a lot of vitamins and minerals. The perfect food for a baby in my opinion. When it comes to the matter of flavour and texture, quinoa is really great because it's quite flavourless but gives a nice chewy texture to fruit mashes depending on how long you cook it. So, any fruit you will mix with cooked quinoa will provide most of the taste of the end product.

There are a lot of possible combinations you could try. I decided to mix it with a ripe mashed banana. The banana makes it really creamy without the need of adding any dairy like milk or yoghurt. Using a ripe banana will give the mash the perfect amount of sweetness. So, I definitely recommend to use a ripe banana. It's also better to digest for your baby in comparison to an unripe banana.

Banana and cinnamon are a match made in heaven so I decided to put in a dash of cinnamon. It makes it taste like a chai tea mash which is so delicious in my opinion.

This recipe make 2 servings. Adjust the amounts depending on how much you need for your baby. You can easily place the rest in the fridge or make even more and store a few servings in the freezer so you have some of it on hand when you need it.

If you're an adult like me, make the full recipe as a healthy snack. ;)

Banana Quinoa Baby Mash Recipe

IMG_20170825_111529.jpg

Ingredients (for 2 servings)

  • 50 g quinoa
  • 125 ml water
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 dash of cinnamon

IMG_20170825_105012.jpg

Directions

Rinse the quinoa with hot water to get rid of most of the saponins.

IMG_20170825_110359.jpg

Place rinsed quinoa with water in a small pot. Let it start to cook.

IMG_20170825_105248.jpg

Place the lid on and cook on medium heat until the quinoa is fully cooked. Adjust the amount of water and cooking time depending on how you want the texture to be. With the amount that I used the quinoa was "al dente".

IMG_20170825_105342.jpg

Mash the banana with a fork.

IMG_20170825_105519.jpg

IMG_20170825_105706.jpg

When the quinoa is done, add the mashed banana and a dash of cinnamon.

IMG_20170825_110545.jpg

IMG_20170825_110726.jpg

Mix it all together.

IMG_20170825_110833.jpg

Enjoy! :)

IMG_20170825_111536.jpg

So delicious! :D

IMG_20170825_111656.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this post!

If so, please don't forget to resteem, upvote and follow me! 😊

Sort:  

Thanks for the support @digitalplayer! I appreciate that. :)

Thanx alina shall try at home and show my wife also , as we expecting a baby in dec and this dish could be kept in list of babies food in near future...

Congrats to you and your wife @svtayade! I am glad that you like the recipe. I hope your baby will accept it. ;)

Oh you've been so quick in sending your entry my friend! I'm still thinking what to do, kinda stuck with the theme!
Really very healthy entry, good luck for the contest and i hope i can come up with something!
@progressivechef

As soon as I saw this weeks theme, I started to create the recipe and write the post. But honestly I was looking forward to this today. I even planned to do it today because @woman-onthe-wing said she would announce the theme today. So, that's why I was so quick. :D

I'm interested what you will create for this weeks theme. I read that you are a parent. So, you have some experience. ;) I think you will come up with something great. :)

Good luck @progressivechef!

Oh you are putting pressure on my now...Yes I am a parent but i've really not cook food for my baby though..it was always my wife who was cooking everything!
I will make my best to come up with something, fingers crossed!

I am absolutely sure that you will make it @progressivechef. Maybe your wife can help you coming up with some ideas? :)

A delicious and nutritious meal for babies - beautiful! I used quinoa as my son's first grain when he was about 8 months and he loved it... You're right it's the perfect grain when transitioning to more solid foods. And great for sensitive digestive systems, as you pointed out. I love that you added cinnamon - many people don't even think of introducing spices and herbs until their children are much older, but it's good to do it from the start and then they develop a broader range of tastes.

I would happily feed this to my baby, and would also happily eat it myself! Great entry, easy to prepare and lovely presentation. Good luck @alinalisa!

Thank you so much for your lovely comment @woman-onthe-wing! :D

This weeks challenge was a real challenge for me. And I think it's also a challenge for other people that haven't had the change to be parents. But I think that this was a great theme. Though I studied nutritional science and had a few classes about the nutrition of babies I lacked the practice of baby food. So, to deal with this theme was really great for me to use my theoretical knowledge to create an actual product. :)

I'm so glad that you like the recipe and the included ingredients. And you're absolutely right with including spices and herbs in a babies diet. At first, I was afraid that some people wouldn't be fond of the cinnamon. But during my study I learned that including a wide variety of foods or in other words flavours, textures, colours and odours right at the beginning of a child's life, will result in a child that is interested in different foods. That will make it easy to feed your child in a healthy and varied way. Otherwise you will end up with a picky eater.

Again, thank you for your words! :)

no way super fast entry! hahah I love it. I t makes me feel like I'm slacking. So good quinoa love it and banana my favorite, I'm sure you will be excellent at feeding your baby haha if you ever decide to have one :P
Hopefully I will too

Haha thank you @tioluis! I was really quick, you're right. :D I'm sure you will come up with a great idea just in time. ;) Thank you for your nice comment! :) I'm excited to see your entry! Good luck!

Nice entry! I am stuck with this week's theme. I dont know of I can make it :-D Anyway, good luck @alinalisa! :-)

Thank you @ikaputri3! :)

If I'm able to create baby food you're definitely too. ;) I'm excited for your entry!

Thanks!

Nice entry! Good luck in challenge :)

Thank you @babettxx! :)

Are you joining this weeks challenge? It is quite tricky. I'm excited for the rest of the non-parents entries. :D

Of course! I won't let go this occasion! Tomorrow I will add my entry :)

Looks yummy even if you do not posses a baby! :D

You are right @misskate. It is really good. :D

For sure! :D

Hi i like your post upvoted your post hope you will like my posts and will upvote my posts as your true followe

Thank you so much for your support @hasaan! :)

Hi i like your post upvoted your post hope you will like my posts and will upvote my posts as your true followe

Congratulations @alinalisa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54045.75
ETH 2247.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30