You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 💌 Steemit Comment Challenge #30 - $5 SBD + 2 x 200 SP (1 Weeks Delegation) - Comment like a Champ, Grow your blog like a Champ!! 💌

Well, unfortunately, I can't speak too authoritatively about my experiences with bona fide cheese danishes, as I'm lactose intolerant and not much of a fan of cheese anyway (I know, I'm weird). Also, my partner recently went vegan, which has spilled over to all cooking activities. He's really into it right now, so I get lots of guilt if I bring anything not vegan around him. For my fellow vegans, partners of vegans, lactose intolerant, or dairy allergic friends, here’s a vegan version:

DOUGH

  • 2 1/4 teaspoons instant yeast
  • 1/4 cup lukewarm water
  • 1/2 cup lukewarm milk milk substitute - I recommend vanilla almond milk + a tablespoon extra
  • 1/4 cup (4 tablespoons) butter Earth Balance, softened
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons salt
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla or 1/8 teaspoon Fiori di Sicilia
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten 3 tablespoons applesauce + 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 cups King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour

FILLING

  • 1 cup (8-ounce package) cream cheese vegan cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten 3 tablespoons applesauce + 1 teaspoon baking powder + a splash of water or milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla or 1/4 teaspoon Fiori di Sicilia

GLAZE

  • 1 egg yolk melted vegan margarine
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 4 tablespoons sparkling white sugar
Sort:  

Confirmed!
Super cool to reply with a vegan proof recipe. Well done!

I'll let everyone know if I get a chance to try it out! I'm not 100% positive about the applesauce + baking powder as an egg replacer, but it should work. That mix is good for replicating the fluffiness with a little bit of binder, but of course it provides a very different flavor. Follow Your Heart just came out with a full egg replacer that is supposedly pretty good, but getting a good egg replacer that performs all of the functions that egg can serve from common ingredients can be tricky.

If you're a vegan who eats honey (some do), adding a little bit of honey would give it some extra binding. Same thing with maple syrup.

Congrats on this week's 2nd Prize!
I wish you a nice weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.52
ETH 3002.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12