The right and wrong way to do Steemit.chat

in #steemitchat7 years ago (edited)

I spend a lot of time in Steemit chat. If you haven't been over there yet you really should go check it out, there are some really great people that I have met on there, that I now consider friends. A few nights ago a bunch of us were in chat when a man came in with the screen name @bilalhaider he was wondering why he had more followers than some of us do but we are making more than he is. I personally didn't check out his blog to see what the problem was because I was busy designing (I multi-task while in chat) but others were reporting back that his issues was content. He was plagiarizing some of his work (@cheetah catches almost all of it, so don't do it)

So the room including me told him to start creating his own original content, and he started to get abusive saying how he hates women and attacking the ladies in the room including me. It escalated into him saying some stuff that did get the room riled up. We are a friendly group that loves to help each other and new people to the platform, when we were trying to help him, we wanted to see him succeed, then he escalated things.

Next thing I knew it was being reported that people were flagging him for his bad behavior, I still at this point had not even checked out his page. He apologized so some people started removing their flags thinking he learned his lesson. And it was done. Or so we thought....

The next night he came into the room after creating multiple profiles. And spammed the room with vile things. One said he was gonna rape us in the a** over and over again. He created memes of me and a few other members of Steemit. One of the profiles he cloned was Graham's better known around here as @kafkanarchy84 . He wrote about his experience here and what he found https://steemit.com/abuse/@kafkanarchy84/i-found-out-who-was-impersonating-me-on-steemit-chat-bilalhaider

This man made me a meme (using a fake profile) I guess I have arrived because I have a hater. I am just sad it is because it isn't over my content and is over the fact I was born a woman. He said multiple times how he hates women.
bilal.PNG

This is not a proper way to use chat. He has spammed the rooms over and over again and he has suffered from that. You can go to @mehdibca post and see the research he did that proves you don't want to abuse others it does not pay to steal on Steemit or to abuse others. https://steemit.com/steemit/@mehdibca/how-to-damage-your-steemit-reputation-at-light-speed-then-move-to-planet-mars-a-true-story (update to his post dude's rep is now 0)

There is a proper way to use Steemit and Steemit Chat Please watch @clevercreator's video to learn more.

And please respect others even if they have different sex organs than you do, or have a different religious belief or sexual preference, or skin color. Respecting diversity will go along way on this platform, and if you attack someone it can ruin your reputation. And for those who have damaged their reputation here, you can fix it. Start with making a post of what you have done wrong, then create your own content, and be nice and respectful to others. And eventually you will grow. Don't do what this guy did and continue to spam the chat room it will backfire.

He lost his reputation very quickly because he did not do these things. After days of his abuse I finally went to his page and flagged him also. I don't like to flag people's stuff but if you are being abusive and making threats you will get flagged.

I think he is mad.PNG

Remember you behavior in chat reflects on you on Steemit.

Update today he was down to -1

Sort:  

Yeah... seems like @bilalhaider was projecting some insecurities onto everyone. I don't know him at all and it sounds like he didn't like being called out on his own shit. Him attacking people in the community instead of listening and learning won't help him one bit. This pretty much just black-listed him. I'm pretty sure this got in front of some higher ups also that saw his attack on others. I always say these kinds of people end up taking care of themselves eventually.

Please don't take to heart anything this human garbage has to say about you. You know who you are and we know who you are. You're beautiful and he just MAD! <3 (1,000 #yunk for your strength!)

I propose a hardware peripheral that must be plugged in at all times in order to access Steemit. A 1'x1'x1' box that plugs in via USB. If your reputation reaches zero, it opens up and a swarm of angry bees comes out. The bees all have turbo AIDS.

LMAO you win the internet for today with that comment. I am gonna come back and upvote this when I power back up, my VP is drained right now. Flagging comes at a cost just like upvoting does.

No need to upvote me (compare our wallets/reputations/etc.) but I think your content is rad. I'd rather you stop by and give me your unique take on some of the ideas I post about. The thoughtful reflections on my writing from brains other than my own is the biggest value I get out of this site, and you seem like an interesting person.

I never look at that when I am upvoting something, I could care less about all that I care about content and what it brings. I read your stuff frequently since I found ya, I will make sure to comment more, sometime I don't know what to say that hasn't been said in the comments, I normally read those before replying myself. I don't want to sound like a broken record.

hahaha... I was reading this so seriously in my head... and then the end killed me lol

I noticed today his location says heaven lol

ughhh ... sorry that you went through all that.
There seems to be a lot more bad behaviour now that Steemit is adding users so quickly.

at least the community stands by each other in cases like this, but with the block chain you can't hide bad behavior so it doesn't pay to be rude and inconsiderate.

Quality/quantity issue, and tragedy of the commons.

Sounds to me like somebody who is mad at the world and used this site to pick fights and lash out at people.

He hates women AJ sadly

We tried to play nice at first...

"A loss isn't a loss it's a lesson"

Jayunk-Z

Nobody is missing him. Thanks for sharing details of your encounter with the Mars Cat Dude.

I know I won't miss him at all.

I forget about the steemit chat but am excited to use it more. One of these days I will. Chat boxes are infamous for trolls and cyber bullies. Good on you for sharing this. Stay tough and brave.

It normally isn't like that in there just when he came in, and the mods have been great about booting him when he does show back up. It reminds me of chat rooms when the internet first came out, people sharing information and building friendships. Then the spam bots took over and ruined chat rooms for everyone and those perverts that just to cyber.

Some people need help. We'll done for dealing with this problem.

Love how everyone came together to try to stop it

Sorry to say he is from Pakistan and mostly people try to earn money without doing anything and he is also doing the same. don't give attention to him.

@osrusman trust me when I say this there are men like this from every Country, we every have them here in the United States and I bet you have some where you are from too.

yes you are correct
can you please check your inbox i sent you something please help me

absolutely - buddy was totally out of line and anti-social... sad.

The community's response to it was amazing though, all those people coming together to try to put a stop the the harassment, between that and the fundraiser to help clever has sealed the deal for me that this is the online community I have been searching for all these years. This is home.

sorry this happened.. I have been in the chat room when certain things are going on and I leave... some seem ok with certain things.. at other times it has been fun..depends like real life on who is in the room.

most of the time is is a great place to be, then occasionally someone thinks bad behavior is okay, I hear he is still attack some members

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62