Steemitbloggers contest: The hotel with a pool

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago

A memoir from Bangkok, Thailand in jet lag...

pool-720697_1280.jpg

Hello, I said, in the sun of my smile to gently encourage my heart into surrender for one more dance to the bar.

A thousand tangos lay about my feet as I drank the wine of this down, all the way into my belly, and heard someone say: relax it’s just the servitude under your feet that you’re falling into.

Another jazz song then I thought and carried the burden onwards.

And as I did so I began to turn into jelly; which is when a brass band flashed in my ear and caused me to turn back again, away from the other side of my thoughts as I stared at the woman singing her set on stage.

Well, this tango is different, isn’t it, I said to myself and wondered if the soul is influenced by the gender surrounding it.

My drink was finished with me feeling I’d had enough anyway, and what with the jet lag I was kind of swaying on the spot, so I decided to see the performance out and then make my way to the hotel and call it a night.

I arrived back after stumbling along a few routes my legs took me and found the bar had closed, but a small bribe to the receptionist brought me a cold beer near to the pool, where I drank it and listened to the night sounds of Bangkok, out there somewhere.
I was alone, nobody else around, and although I’d had a few drinks I still wasn’t sleepy.
It was my first day of jet lag after arrival; always the same after a long haul flight

And then I heard laughter; a girl laughing; but where?
I stood up to get a better view over the tables stacked with chairs and heard another giggle coming from across the dining room I suddenly was in that was next to the swimming pool in the open air. Hey, it’s Thailand I thought.
It was then that I found myself with choices: I could sit back down again and pretend to be invisible. Or, I could go towards the sound of a girl laughing.
Hmm, was the night calling me?
But who was she laughing with?
Well, there’s only one way to find out.
Plucking myself up with all the energy I could muster, I ventured forth and towards that which was calling me to come and play, and eventually got there and crept into where they were.
Creepy I know, but hey, anybody could be at home if luck was on my side.
Two girls came into view: one blonde and one who said hello?
Tripping over myself I began to glow, and the girls said: let’s go for a swim.
Wait a minute, I said, how about an introduction?
I’m a mermaid said the one I wanted to be with.
And I’m her sister said the other one.
Well, this is a nice surprise I said, and allowed myself to be drawn towards the one I wanted, and saw that she was looking at me.
I just had to take out my time table then and examine it from end to end until I disappeared down the rabbit hole again to come up spluttering to say: I should be delighted.
Now let me tell you how much fun it is to go skinny dipping at two o’ clock in the morning with two fun girls who wanted nothing more than to have fun…

I was determined not to let the jet-lag get me down, and so after I’d stripped off, I dove into the pool right into the moon’s reflection; and anyone who’s seen the moon’s reflection in the mirror will know what I mean. Anyway, emerging into the air I shook the water out of my eyes and looked to see where the girls were.
Very close, like around about my left ear, I heard the sound of love saying: hello, kiss-kiss.
As I tried to kiss her back, her sister shoved me under water and said: hands off, you dirty rotten scoundrel you.
Got to really love this hotel…
On a telephone pole way up above my head, an owl stared down at me dispassionately and said nothing at all, as hungrily as I looked up at it from the depths where I needed wisdom, and wished it would say something to me.
It said not a word.
Turning away, I swam on my own then for a while, until a mermaid pulled me into her embrace and said: swim with me.
Of a sudden I found myself doing the back stroke, the belly roll, and all sorts of movements. Of course I’ll swim with you I said.
Relax, have fun, she said then, and swam out of sight so that I could not see her anymore.
Some amount of time later, I climbed out of the pool. The girls were gone, but I was feeling that I could sleep now. My first day in Thailand in the hotel with a pool…
Was it a dream? I can’t say for sure now, but if it was, then it was one I’d gladly have again.

Image from Pixabay

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

good luck with the contest...I enjoy reading your story as always

Thank you very much for reading

Just working on my entry :) May the best man win haha :D

For me it's more about the fun of writing and seeing what others do

Ofc it is :) that's exactly why I wanted to write something challenging to make it more competitive :D

Posted using Partiko Android

I will read it as soon as you have done it

You've got to be kidding me! But I can relate to what you have shared about guest going thru jet leg situations and they have done during those moments. Thanks for sharing

Good luck with the contest

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, but seeing as there's only 2 others I'm bound to come in the top 3

At least it is a winning there

Posted using Partiko Android

At least it is a winning there

Posted using Partiko Android

You sure that’s barman didn’t give you acid ??😂😂😂 I was laughing at the part where you were searching . Reminded me of an episode of father ted E59DA4FE-B872-49E5-9184-00D968E1034C.jpeg

Yes, well, I'm old now, and those kind of things don't matter anymore

Awesome story telling, thanks for good read @wales

You're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55