You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Murder on the Orient Express 2017 - movie review (Steemitbloggers Contest)

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

Agatha Christie is an author I've never read before. Did she only write the Poirot stories, or did she have other protagonists as well? I may need to get a hold of one of her books and see what all the fuss is about.

As far as remakes go, it seems I hold the same belief as most others who have commented before - rarely are they better than the original. I would ask, though: what if you saw the remake without having seen the original first, and then watched the original (of any film)? I wonder if our perception would be reversed? I'm just hypothesising that perhaps we find remakes not as good, because we already have a mindset of how we have been conditioned to believe that the film should run.

I don't know if that makes sense. Anyway.. great review! Thanks. I reckon I'll have a look at Agatha Christie.

Sort:  

She is often considered to be "the queen of crime novels". The prize Agatha that writers of criminal novels can receive is named after her. She wrote more than 80 books and no, not all of them are about Poirot. Give her a read, the fuss about her is for a reason ;)

Your hypothesis has sense and I do believe that if I was to watch a remake before an original I would probably like it better but ONLY if it is good enough when compared to a book. I have found that remakes usually want to add an additional touch to the story and go to far with it :)

You see, the sad thing is, they never compare to the book, not even originals. Well, rarely. I recently watched the new Poseidon - pretty good compared to the original, but I can't understand why they changed the ending so drastically. Seems a bit unnecessary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58647.98
ETH 2291.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46