Public Art in Manhattan - The Guardians: Hero

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

There are a lot of beautiful statues all over Manhattan, and there should be, as millions of people visit NY on a regular basis. What a greater way to educate ourselves than paying attention to these amazing pieces of art and reading the little info about the artists, displayed somewhere in a little corner?

Today I want to share this photo. I saw this statue in Midtown, at Plaza Three Bryant Park.

1.jpg

At the beginning I didn't know what it represents. I thought it is robot. Well, I was very close. This statue is called The Guardians: Hero. So it is a hero, like a superman. It is made out of marble and steel. This whole plaza is made out of marble, it looks very luxurious to me.

2.jpg

Then I read the description. This statue was made by Italian artist Antonio Pico Saracinois and it is a permanent one, that means they won't move it. It was donated by Italy. This is the second permanent sculpture made by Antonio Pico Saracino, I will have to look for the other one in my next walk.

3.jpg

This statue is 13’ x 3.5’ x 2.5’ (I googled it). Being so tall and with so many horizontal planes, this statue reminds me of the buildings that surround it. The only difference is that the statue has some sort of movement, mainly because it is a human figure and those planes are curved, while the skyscrapers are just blocks and blocks and blocks of concrete, steel and glass. The movements are only inside of those buildings. Imagine hundreds and hundreds of people moving up and down, in and out!

Manhattan is a GIANT ANTHILL for sure!

4.jpg

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

SB_new.png

Sort:  

That is a very interesting piece of art, the closer you get to it seems to bring it more into focus of being a human type form. Thanks for sharing it on #steemitbloggers.

I agree with you. At the beginning I didn’t understand much about it. I had to look closer and stare at it for a while. But I guess that everybody might see it differently, it is a matter of taste. 😊

I like the name of the statue! Although I was trying hard to understand why it's called that way. Sometimes it's art, Hehe, perhaps not reasons to it. Thanks for sharing this, @starjewel!

#steemitbloggers

I still don’t understand totally the name ‘The Gardians: Hero’, but I think it signifies gardians=soldiers=heros

It doesn’t blend in with the background alright #steemitbloggers

Maybe that was the intention. 😉

I love city sculptures. They all tell a unique story. This one is pretty cool.

There are many city sculptures, some of them permanent, some of them are changed periodically, depending on events. Too bad they don’t do detailed descriptions, sometimes they don’t even display the name of the artist. This one I kind of interpreted myself, as I didn’t find much info on google.

The whole statue is made of marble? It is marvellous. I really love the statue. Never seen one like that before. Thank you for sharing. :)

Yes it is. I am glad I came across it so I could take photos and share it. 😊

Wow, that is fascinating! Thanks for the close up view from a different perspective. I really wanted to see more of it. Great post!

You’re welcome, I have to go back to that area next week and I will take some more close ups. 😉

Very unusual idea. I haven’t seen such statues yet, I liked it.

amazing sculpture it is

Yes it is 😊

I'm not a big fan of this sculpture. But it fits the area...

Nice photos!

We all have different taste, you know that, you are a poet 😊

Cool art)!

Yes, I also think it is a cool piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33