A walk in Rockefeller Plaza, New York City

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago

Rockefeller center is my favorite hanging out place in Manhattan. That is because I worked more than 10 years in that area. I keep going back whenever I have some free time, and I reflect on life. It is very therapeutic, believe me.

I see changes every week. Our lives change perpetually, my own life changed a lot. We all evolve. We learn every day and we strive to become better persons and live a better life.

Many professional writers and journalists wrote about Rockefeller Plaza, as it is holds such an important place, physical and also spiritual, in the heart of the city. This post reflects my own perception and admiration for this lovely spot.

First of all, as soon as I get there, I always like to sit close to the water and admire the statues and flowers. The city workers change the flowers regularly, they really do a great job! In this shot I am looking towards 5th Avenue. There is an amazing statue there. They change these statues regularly, depending on the cultural events that take place.

1.jpg

This giant statue with wings is called Uraeus and it was made by Anslem Kiefer, a German Neo-Expressionist sculptor. It represents an opened Guttenberg’s bible, spreading its wings from atop a 20-foot pole, wrapped by a coiling snake. Some other books are spread around the bottom. I read somewhere that this piece of art is inspired by ancient Egyptian symbolism, as wings evoke the headdresses worn by Pharaohs in honor of the vulture goddess.

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

Another great statue in this area is Atlas. The sculpture represents the Ancient Greek Titan Atlas holding the heavens. This statue is made of bronze and it was installed in 1937. I like this statue because it is Art Deco style, like the whole Rockefeller Plaza. I read somewhere that this is the largest statue in Rockefeller Center. It is 45 feet tall and weights approx. 7 tons!!!!

5.jpg

6.jpg

And here are some shots of St. Patrick's Cathedral. This cathedral is the spiritual center of Rockefeller center and the most prominent landmark of New York City. There are lots of lots of written materials on it, as it surely deserves it. What I want to emphasize in my blog is its extraordinary architectural beauty! Its takes my breath away, every-time I visit. Pictures talk for themselves, no need for words.

7.jpg

8.jpg

Hope you enjoyed my little walk in Rockefeller Plaza today, there is so much to talk about it, but so little time! See you soon!

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

SB_new.png

Sort:  

Great sculptures and architecture. That garden is very pretty. Nice to have such spots in the middle of cities. They are much needed.

Thanks for your post and amazing photos! 😃

You’re welcome. There are many beautiful spots in Manhattan, but for me this is the best. I just described a very small corner, there is so much to show. I will share some more in the near future. Thank you for stopping by. 😊

Ohhhh the two sculptures you chose are fantastic! Especially the first.... And of course, the architecture of the cathedral is exquisite! Thank you for taking us there with you... :)

You’re welcome, I will show some more. There are many sculptures that I like in this area. I must share. 😊

Thanks for taking us on a walk to one of your favorite places!

Thanks for taking us
On a walk to one of your
Favorite places!

                 - papacrusher


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You’re very welcome, I am glad you enjoyed the walk. 😊

I've never been, so I thoroughly enjoyed it with you @starjewel!! The first sculpture is beautiful as well as the gardens and water too. I've seen the "Atlas" one of course on TV, as well as St. Patrick's Cathedral, but your photos were beautiful.

I'm submitting this to c-squared too. Nice post!

Thank you for stopping by and thank you for submitting my post, I appreciate the help. I am trying to put a personal touch on my blog, that’s what blogging is all about, right? NYC is fascinating, and as I spend so much time here now, I will share more, so I hope you will enjoy it with me, my dear @lynncoyle1

As you know, I share plenty of personal things here, and I think it really does help create a lot of relationships; the personal touch is a good idea :)

I'm looking forward to more of NYC then too!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Very wonderful place Rockefeller Plaza, very lovely atmospere and very beautiful colors, wonderful work and love your photography.

Thank you so much and I love your posts too, you are very talented, you amaze me 😊

most welcome starjewel :)

This post was a lovely little escape from reality for me.... ha ha the reality of being stuck in the house today catching up on a few tasks :-(

I have never been to New York but always wanted to visit. Thanks for taking me along on your journey :-)

I am so glad to hear that. You must visit NY, it is well worth it, I promise you. Meanwhile, you’re more than welcome to follow me along my walks, will try to share as much as I can. 😊

Dear @starjewel,

We found you through #steemitbloggers and your story attracted our attention. We would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Sure, I agree. I went over your rules, and I see you want 3 photos in the post. This one has 8 photos. Anyway, I went through some posts tagged with your tags and I saw posts with more than 3 photos. So what are the actual rules and do I still need to apply by using that form you posted, or only by tagging this post and future posts with your tags? Thanks!

Hey @starjewel, thanks for going through. You can drop by to our latest progressive report to see some updates, especially on the rules. We had removed the photo limits to none as we know a good story will definitely have a lot of great photographs.

These rules still apply:

  1. With original photos (more than 50% are yours)
  2. With your own writing about your experience (at least 300 words)
  3. Use #archisteem tag

Link to the latest progressive report: https://steemit.com/placestoremember/@archisteem/archisteem-report-050-1001-places-to-remember-s-story-collection-24092018

Thank you for the tour of one of your favorite places! I have enjoyed that! I didn't know that there were such Cathedrals in the US! It would be great to see the interior too!

That would be a whole new post. Maybe next time when I go there 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75