Post-Vacation Blues - Returning to Work After a Holiday

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)


Why is there such painful sorrow in the ending of a vacation and returning to work? It's not as if I dislike my job, on the contrary, I find it fulfilling and meaningful. Today is my first day back to work after vacation and I fear I have a substantial case of the Post-Vacation Blues. I sat on the edge of my bed a bit longer than usual as I was preparing for work today. I almost let a tear roll down my cheek in remembrance of the vacation that ended far to soon like a cool vapor upon the heat of the day.

 

Post-Vacation Blues - The Symptoms


My wife and I recently returned from an amazing vacation in the North Georgia Mountains. We stayed in the beautiful town of Helen, GA and we loved every single moment of our trip. We enjoy spending time together and this trip was no different. I noticed driving back on the way home from our trip that I begin to feel a small, cold spot forming in my heart. The sun was just a bit duller and my favorite songs a little less pleasing. What was this strange phenomenon happening to me? Was it just coincidence or would things begin to worsen the farther from our vacation we traveled? I shook the thought from my head and enjoyed the rest of the journey with my wife by my side. Deep down inside I knew the cold spot was spreading, threatening to take me where I didn't want to go.

vacation, holiday, trip, travel, depression, comedy, humor
Image Source Pixabay

I always try to plan my trips with a buffer zone between the end of the holiday and when I have to go back to work. I consider this my decompression zone and I build it in with the hope that it will fight off the post-vacation blues. This trip was no exception and we returned home on a Friday with the rest of the weekend to enjoy until returning to work on Monday. The weekend was grand and fine and everything was right in the world.......until Sunday night. The sneaky cold spot was a full blown hole in my soul pining away for our lost trip and gluttonous splurges at amazing restaurants. I wept internally for the missing tourist traps and candy shops that adorn every main-street-square-of-vacation-town-usa.

vacation, trip, travel, holiday, writing, blog, depression, humor, comedy
Image Source Pixabay

The next day was no better. It was a raging fever of after trip depression and nothing held joy for me! Each step out of the bed and through my routine of getting ready was like lifting shoes of concrete and holding up the weight of the world at the same moment. I begin to feel my self curse my existence for not getting the extra helping of schnitzel while away. I hated myself for not having any cheesecake fudge stashed away as a temporary antidote and reprieve from this tormenting pain. Loathing consumed me for not taking a few more pictures or posting more of my extraordinary adventures to make all of my social media "friends" a bit more jealous of my charmed life. How would I every shake this sickness, worse was it contagious? Would I taint everyone in my existence with my sorrow?

 

Post-Vacation Blues- The Cure and Recovery


Apparently, I was not contagious as everyone at work was humming along like a well oiled machine. I was still severely afflicted with this strange disease as I begin to recount my adventure to my fellow co-workers. Surprisingly, retelling of my tales begin to lift the dark clouds surrounding my soul and a small quivering light begin to shine through the darkness of my blues. Was this the answer? Was this a cure? I furiously began to tell everyone within hearing distance of my journey. I swiped through pictures with the speed and agility of a well-trained athlete. With each passing story and picture I became stronger.

vacation, trip, travel, holiday, humor, comedy, writing
Image Courtesy Pixabay

Before long, I was almost back to my pre-vacation glory and work was flowing splendidly. Hope filled my bosom at the thought that the worst of my blues were faded and recovery was on the near horizon. Occasionally, I would feel the cold fingers begin to grip my heart again and I would fight them back to the abyss with a quick rundown of one of the fabulous meals we shared on our trip. I called my wife to ensure that she was recovering from her blues as well. She immediately begin to dive into plans she had been making for our next getaway. I always knew I had a gem in her. She knows the only way to get over the breakup of a vacation is to plan another one immediately! She's definitely a keeper! As I bit into my cold sandwich at lunch, I dreamed it was the beautifully prepared New York Strip I devoured on vacation!

 

How do you combat the post-vacation blues? What tips and tricks to you have for those infected by this dreaded disease? Thanks for reading! You may also like these recent posts.

 

Sun God Rules

Ode to the Beat Generation-The Ride


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/07/30/post-vacation-blues/


All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

How do you combat the post-vacation blues?

Normally my suggested cure, like most other mental ailments, would be medical maryjuana, yet considering your profession and your state of residence this may be bad advice. 😎

Get well soon, Buddy!

lol Yeah, I might run into an issue or two with that.

This is quite normal for all of us. It's difficult to get back into things after being away for a while. The buffer is a good idea and I always like to go back mid week so that it doesn't feel that long. Sounds like your wife knows how to cheer you up too :)

Going back mid week is an awesome plan as well. My wife is absolutely perfect in every way!

Feeling your pain bro. I’ve been back for a week though now so it’s not too bad. Vacation seems like ancient history now :)

Definitely! I remember reading your post about your post vacation blues. Probably where I stole the idea for the post, now that I think of it....lol

I think you are so correct, although I always felt that sadness every Sunday night, lol I think our family just enjoyed our weekend time together we dreaded leaving one another on Monday mornings! Vacation time ending was always a crusher!

I can definitely relate to the Sunday night blues as well.

howdy from Texas @papacrusher! I had no idea such a condition existed and I've never taken a vacation so I have nothing to say that would help but I enjoyed the post and I am confident that you will make a full recovery!

Thanks buddy, I'm almost back to battle readiness!

very good sir! hahaha! life can be a battle sometimes!

I feel you.. I've been there haha
Love how you tell your stories

Thanks! Telling stories is what makes us who we are.

That's the worst coming back from vacation. Vacations are great because they provide the excitement of anticipation at the front end, and a barrage of lifelong memories at the back. And then your back at the daily grind...lol

Exactly! I think I am over the worst of the symptoms and getting back acclimated to the "real" world...lol

Welcome back from holiday, at least you relaxed a bit.

Thank you, it is good to be back. I did indeed relax and I am fighting off the working man blues right now...lol Maybe steem will go to the moon and we can all retire!!!!

Ooh I totally feel you. Hope you're feeling better now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77