Night Dwellers - Denizens of the Dark

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)


I have a few more shifts on night rotation before I go back to the mundane world of working day shift for 4 months. While I get much more done in regards to the various areas of responsibility I answer for, I will miss those unique individuals who reside hidden in the shadows of the night. Those saints and sinners who have chosen the moon over the sun, the dark over the light, and, in many cases, the sublime over the normal.

Night is Normal for Some


In a recent exchange on another article, I made the following comment:

Oh no, I definitely meet interesting people during the day, but there is a wonderfully, special breed of people that inhabit the night. It is a magical time when they let their fangs show and their true natures loose.
This statement personifies that rare breed that walks with the shadows, going about their nightly routines in spite of the lack of that guiding star high above showing the way across the horizon. There is something fascinating about the affect the night has on people. Things move a bit more slyly,like the mood of those walking beneath the moon, hand in hand, sharing the secrets of their soul on vaporous whispers, connected for the briefest of moments.

Night Has a Life of It's Own

If you have never traversed the tranquilly of the night on a regular basis, it is hard to grasp the shift that occurs when you inhabit that world. Reality tilts on it's axis ever so slightly to allow the improbable to become possible. It allows your shadowy dreams to become a bit more anchored. The shadows hold an immeasurable amount of "what may be" that can only be accessed by those who are versed in the cryptic language of the night, those vagabond cowboys that hold the secrets of the universe within a pack of unfiltered Camels. Those metropolitan mystics living through ancient visions performed upon the glistening pavement of the wine-soaked alleys. "From the ridiculous to the sublime is but a step", these prophetic utterances from Napoleon proves he perused the pathways of the nocturnal, for only at the darkest witching hour can such wisdom be seized.

Yes, I will miss the glorious embrace of the night.

 

You may also like my article about a interesting fellow I met one night.

Image Source Pixabay


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/08/31/night-dwellers-denizens-of-the-dark/

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

themancave


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

So true about the night! Back when I had a choice, it was always my shift of choice! It does do a little number on your circadian rhythm though!

It definitely screws with rhythms! I'm glad we rotate every 4 months. Towards the end of the cycle I start getting physical issues associated with being on nights. It was much easier when i was a younger man...lol

You are definitely right! Younger people have an easier time adapting to it. The older we get the less we want to do it. I did quite a bit of research on shift work back when I was working at a nuke power plant. There they did rotating shifts. I found that it made a difference in which way the shifts rotated. Days - swings -mids or days - mids - swings! Plus most of the major industrial accidents happened on the mid shift - Chernobyl, Bhopal, TMI! Even even though people seem to be physically awake at 3 am they are mentally asleep!

That is extremely interesting about the accidents related to shifts. I can definitely see where it would be a contributing factor.

howdy sir papacrusher! I worked third shift most of my life, much of it out driving around so I know how different it feels. Well, the 4 months will go fast!

I get much more done on day shift, but man do I miss my night peeps...lol

sir papacrusher! well it should be interesting to see if anything has changed when you get back on in 4 months. I assume you see the same people alot on nights or are you talking generally?

We do tend to see the same people and I was speaking generally as well.

howdy sir papacrusher! I see. .thank you sir!

Congratulations @papacrusher! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80