Jackfruit Barbecue Baked Potatoes

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)


As I mentioned in an earlier post, I tried jackfruit for the first time recently at a Steemit meetup. It was a jackfruit barbecue on buns that was expertly crafted by @hobotang. I was completely taken aback by the texture and flavor and knew I would have to try to make something similar soon.

jackfruit barbecue

As life tends to do, I let it get in the way and the idea of finding and preparing jackfruit was placed in the back of my mind. I then saw a post by my new buddy @janton about a Vegan Texas Brisket and the idea was back with a vengeance. I quickly found my issue was trying to find jackfruit. I received some excellent advice from @delishtreats about buying it canned. I found some decent canned jackfruit on Amazon and the I happened to stumble upon some pre-packaged jackfruit barbecue in my local grocery store's vegan section. Hot dog, game on sucka!!!
jackfruit barbecue

I decided that since it was already prepared and since I already tried it as a barbecue sandwich that I would make jackfruit barbecue backed potatoes. Well tonight was the night. My wife handled making the baked potatoes. I didn't realize until recently that you did anything other than throw them in the microwave or oven, but my wife coats them in olive oil, kosher salt, and rough ground pepper before baking and it definitively makes all the difference in the world! As she worked on that, I heated up the jackfruit barbecue in a skillet. Once everything was cooked and heated to the perfect temperature, we added our favorite topping and hit it like a pair of buzzsaws. In short, it was fabulous. I am still going to order the canned jackfruit in an attempt to make stuffed peppers with it. I can't wait to give it a try! Have you ever eaten this crazy fruit? If so, leave me some tips in the comments!

jackfruit barbecue



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/09/22/jackfruit-barbecue-baked-potatoes/


All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

themancave


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

Looks delicious! I think it give jackfruit a try soon :-)

It was worth taking a chance on for sure!

Oooh that looks delicious, I have never tried this jackfruit but if I ever see it I’ll grab it and give it a whirl

It is really good. If you find some create something cool and tag me in it, I would love to see it!

When you said jackfruit I was all, never had that before...is it any good? LOL Sounds good the way you put it!

@hobotang made some at the meetup! You didn't get a chance to try it there? Who am I kidding? You were too busy being neck deep in steak!!!! lol

No, i was chawin on steaks lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Mmmm this is looking delicious, i really want to try out jackfruit.

You really should it is great!

Yay!! I'm so happy that you liked it!! Try different recipes and let me know how it goes! I have already tried various meals with jackfruit and always loved it!

Thank you for the mention!

a buddy of mine just found some unsweetened jackfruit in the can and he is picking me up some. I'll try the stuffed peppers probably Thursday!

I tried it fresh it's so so but what a pain to open and get the fruit out it is very messy.

Yeah, I'm kind of happy I've only found it prepackaged for now.

haha! howdy sir papacrusher! thanks for the mention and what a great post! this is going to inspire alot of people to try this! and they don't have to smoke it for 18 hours! lol.

I am literally going to search for this in our area and we're also going to try that trick with the baked potatoes too.

It is definitely worth a shot. My buddy just found some canned at a store near me, so he is picking up a couple of cans for me.

howdy again sir papacrusher! yes sir that sounds darn good and we are going to look for it this week as well so thank you!

Hi @papacrusher!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.999 which ranks you at #10100 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 25 places in the last three days (old rank 10125).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 337 contributions, your post is ranked at #93.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

That BBQ from @hobotang was tasty and HOT! Yours looks delicious. Yum!

Looks incredibly amazing, now you made me hungry! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83