Can't wait to share with you guys what I've been up to...

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

154_1_160_sec_at_f_8_0_ISO_50_20180826_5_D3_3783

What’s up everyone?! I haven’t been too active lately as things have been a bit hectic lately - but hectic can be a good thing.

So what have I been up to the past 10 days?

Well I’ve been traveling back and forth from Boston and New York City a lot lately, working on editing wedding photos, photos from the ICHA Big Blue NYC handball tournament (as well as video) and trying to balance quality time with my wife as she took a few days off.

And speaking of said days off we actually did something pretty unique and very cool and that is GLAMPING.

10_0_sec_at_f_6_3_ISO_100_20180826_5_D3_4164

The next few posts I’ll be sharing photos from my latest glamping (glamorous camping) adventure. We spent a night camping in Govenors Island (located just 800 yards from downtown Manhattan). I took a ton of cool pics that I can’t wait to share with you guys!

But right now I feel a bit sluggish as aside from the real feel temperature of 104 degrees, I was up until 4am this morning editing the photos as my mom and aunty cant wait to see them.

I also killed 2 birds with 1 stone as I recorded how I culled and edited the raw files - along with some thoughts on what I was thinking as I was taking the photos. For those curious It’s going to be a 4 part series.

PART 1
Covers the photos getting to Govenors Island as well as the photos I took throughout the day. I also show you my secret weapon on how I plow through editing tons of RAW files in no time.

35_1_1000_sec_at_f_5_6_ISO_200_20180826_5_D3_3338

PART 2
We didn’t know it at the time but there was a 1920’s jazz festival going on - and it was freaking awesome seeing people dressed up and looking so happy while dancing to old timey jazz music. This video deserved it’s own video which I’ll be sharing with you guys soon!

01_1_500_sec_at_f_2_8_ISO_1250_20180826_5_D3_3860_2

PART 3
I had to take tings a bit slower editing the photos I took during sunset, blue hour and the evening. Editing these types of photos takes more time and effort to edit as it's not a 1, 2, 3 type of endeavour. There are several reasons why - as you’ll soon see in the video.

20_0_sec_at_f_13_ISO_100_20180826_5_D3_4117_Pano

PART 4
I haven’t filmed it yet but I took some special shots that also deserve a video of it’s own. Think long exposures - in the day and high dynamic range shots. I haven’t gotten around to editing them yet so I can’t share a preview image with you - LOL .

Overall, as a photographer it was a real treat to shoot Manhattan from this rarely photographed vantage point. Throw in a vintage jazz party, biking and hanging out with my wife and I couldn't ask for anything more.

That's it for now folks - stay tuned for more goodies coming from yours truly!

SB_new.png

Qme3_PTCb79zk_MRn8b_Ereq9o_MYZb8_R4e_Lfa_Pa_GYp_GUg_RXDm

STEEMIT_PLUG


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your funtastic pictures and experiences. Your enthusiasm is contagious and I can’t wait to see the other pics.

Thanks for the kind words and come back tomorrow!

Travel stuff inspires us.
Love, Wisdom, Gratitude!

Hey, you've got some really cool pictures of NY here. Thanks for sharing them. I can't really imagine staying in NY (form Aust), let alone glamping only 800 yards away!!

Lol - it was a bit rough in terms of taking a shower. I find it near impossible to take cold showers. Plus the bugs were eating me alive - but that's the deal when you go camping in this case glamping.

That is what I call Glamping near the city and I never imagined how cool it would be. Looking forward to see more about it. Looks like you are a pro photographer as your photos are gorgeous. I have been shooting for just barely a year now and I am absolutely in love with it.

Thanks for the kind words. Truth be told I'm not doing anything you can't do. You just need to learn and practice. 😉

I had never heard of glamping before. Looks like fun. Manhattan is awesome.

Not as glamorous as it sounds - when someone like me can't take cold showers. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.93
ETH 2465.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63