Steemitbloggers Contest - A Blog Almost as Good as Being There

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago

Good day to my fellow #steemitbloggers and future #steemitbloggers! I'd like to take a moment to introduce to you @delishtreats, although I'm sure many of you have already made the acquaintance. She is a dedicated, albeit rather new blogger, with quality posts going back as far as 4 months. @delishtreats is passionate about food, specifically vegan food, and aims to share her passion and knowledge with others. While food is her primary focus, many of her posts are also about her travels throughout Europe. Let's get to it!

Travel Adventures - Castle De Haar in the Netherlands

by @delishtreats

photo by @delishtreats

One thing I really love about this post is the wealth of beautiful photos. @delishtreats provides camera settings for each photo she posts, which lets me know that she is a more skilled photographer than the average bear. :-) She begins the post with background information about the place she is visiting and provides enough information for the reader to feel like they have learned something.

Each blog post takes you through the place as if you were there walking through it yourself, with @delishtreats acting as a knowledgeable tour guide. There are tons of photos with most of them being accompanied only by a brief commentary. This is handy; you can scroll through if you want the quick photo tour, or you can slow down and read every word if you have a little more time.

text10.png

photo by @delishtreats

Another reason I appreciate this post is the level of attention to detail. @delishtreats makes sure to provide both pictures and commentary that not only tell you the history of the place, but also the feel of the place. She throws in her opinions about this beautiful castle as well.

After showing you lovely exterior photos and taking you for a tour inside the castle, @delishtreats returns to the great outdoors with a garden tour. True to form, she is detailed and thorough in her descriptions of the grounds.

text10.png

In addition to having inspiring content, this post is well organized and makes judicious use of the nifty text dividers provided by @jaynie over on the #steemitbloggers discord. As a former English teacher, proper spelling and grammar always score big points in my book and this post doesn't disappoint on that front either. The tone is conversational and friendly throughout and makes one feel as if you are going for a castle tour with a long-time friend. @delishtreats keeps the end of the post simple and uncluttered as well, only including the #steemitbloggers footer and her own personal footer.

In all, I love this post (and this entire blog) because it lets me feel as if I were there too! Now don't take my word for it - go check it out for yourself!

text10.png

Thanks for reading. Be sure to check out more by @delishtreats here.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Thank you so much for selecting me for this contest!! I'm honoured! And what a great description of my blogging style!! I wouldn't write it better!

I'm so happy to hear that my grammar is 'acceptable'! As English is not my mother tongue I spend a lot of time reading through what I wrote and correcting it until I believe it's more less fine :)

I try to write my posts in a way that makes people 'feel' like they were there with me so hearing that you perceive it like that makes me smile!

Thank you again! You made my day!

I'm quite surprised that English isn't your first language. You've really mastered it! Thanks for writing such great blogs!

Oh, that is such a lovely compliment!! Sending lot of love your way!

Oh, that is such a
Lovely compliment!! Sending
Lot of love your way!

                 - delishtreats


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thanks for sharing. I'm learning how to curate others and comment constructively

Constructive comments can be tough. I taught high school English for a while. One of the hardest parts was teaching students how to give constructive feedback. They all want to just say "great job" and move on. It's important to articulate what makes it a great job.

Thanks for dropping by! I hope you return soon.

Agree Martina is a wonderful bolgger and tour guide! I get to see new and interesting places on the other side of the world, through her eyes.

I wonder if she was a professional tour guide in a previous life...or just earlier in this one. She's excellent at it!

Thank you Sara @sjarvie5! I love to share the places with you as I feel that you genuinely like my tours! Hahaha @mattifer! I was working in corporate finance for 9 years so nothing as romantic as a professional tour guide earlier in this life.. but I don't know about my previous life though :)

Yes, I think she might have been. In the life before the corporate finance. Or maybe now just the life after corporate finance. Getting to travel and share those travels with us.

Oooh, this could be the 'afterlife'! It's a good one, that's for sure!

This is an excellent choice! I love how @delishtreats introduced the place as if we are following a tour guide!

Thank you @joelai!! I will have to start considering a new career path as people seem to like my tours! :)

You could start a whole new company. Get paid to travel the world and write about it. Take people with you. Have them pay you for your trip. This sounds like winning to me.

That sounds like a dream life BUT I have something different planned for next year ;) I'll reveal it soon! But your idea would be the second on my list! :)

I can't wait for the big reveal. Will you have a party? Will there be music and dancing and food and friends? Am I invited? Is the entire steemit community invited? Will there be ponies?

Ok, fine, I'll wait.

P.S. This is what happens when I can't just click the upvote button and move on with my life. :-P

Hahaha, no, no, nothing like that! What do you think it could be?

I see that you're really frustrated with the upvote button.. don't worry, you'll get used to it! :)

I love guessing games too! Ok, I think the big news is that you're going to run away and join the circus.

Something like that! You're almost there, lol!

Hahaha... you definitely should consider!

@mattifer,

As a former English teacher, proper spelling and grammar always score big points in my book and this post doesn't disappoint on that front either.

That explains it. I was going to comment that you have perfect diction and a wonderful writing style ... not to mention impeccable grammar and spelling. As a poet on Steemit ... I'm giddy with appreciation.

Tell @delishtreats that those are gorgeous pictures that make me wish I were there. In that part of the world, they have a beer called, "Tuborg." I loved it. Tell her to have one on my behalf.

Quill

Why thank you ever so! I'll be sure to pass the word, but I have a feeling she'll notice the tag. It'll be a double compliment by the time I pass it to her. :-)

She’s definitely someone that @archisteem is looking for too!

Good call! I wonder if we could sweet-talk her into editing posts. :-)

Oh, good idea! I never thought of that :P

@delishtreats hello there!

Hello @kimzwarch @mattifer! Sweet-talk me into editing posts? :)

Yup :P And welcome to the project team!

Looking forward to our co-operation!!

Oh yah! Let’s do it.

Congratulations @mattifer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great choice @mattifer she made us tour the castle with some beautiful pictures and details , as she was actually the queen😉. ...
Also good to know about a former teacher in you. ...scares me but looking for some help too😇

Posted using Partiko Android

@steemflow, one of my favorite things to do is offer feedback on writing. I generally don't offer unless its asked for though. :-) Feel free to ask anytime and I'll help out.

And yes, delishtreats definitely was the queen of that castle!

Then you can check on mine when you ever visit them. I know I have many correction to made...you may point out and ping me on discord

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll do that some time. :-)

I agree completely with you @mattifer. @delishtreats besides being a great person, I love her posts. She's thorough, informative, and just fun.

Thank you @tryskele!! It's so nice to hear that from you! :)

I totally agree, @delishtreats is my favourite blogger by far! So pleased to see you showing off her work like this 🦋🌈🌴💛🍀

Yup! She's awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80