You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Knowledge is Power (5) - What is Ethics?

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago

I enjoyed reading your musings on beauty...but I am curious as to how you would define evil. In your post you write, "we all know what that means." I'm not so sure that we would all have the same definition. In my opinion, what is considered evil is based largely on cultural norms, and cultures vary considerably. Do you think there is a single definition of evil that everyone would agree with? Just curious.

Sort:  

I don't think there is one single definition of evil. I agree with you, it is a concept based on cultural norms. For me it is the opposite of good. :)

I think evil has a lot to do with intention rather than action. For that reason, I believe there are very few evil people in the world. Maybe I'm too trusting, but I think that the majority of people do whatever it is they are doing because they believe in it. They believe it will be good on some level.

I just can't (won't?) accept that most people would do terrible things just to be terrible. Then again, there is an entire internet of trolls waiting to prove me wrong. :-/

For sure @mattifer. I am a trusting person too, and I am shocked when I see people doing terrible things just to be terrible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82