All the little creepy crawlers are up and about

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

We all love spring when new growth pushes out, but it is also the time that nature's creepy crawlers also make their appearance.

As I do not use any pesticides, I have to keep a sharp eye out for all these little critters and remove them before they devour precious plants.

This is the "hairy Jenny" - it probably has a much more sophisticated name, but I have always known it as hairy Jenny.
I do not like to touch it as I have heard of some people getting a skin reaction from its hairy bristles, but if you prod it gently with a twig, it rolls up into a ball and then can be lifted with a trowel and placed somewhere away from plants.

The cabbage butterfly comes from this stripy caterpillar - the butterfly loves to lay its yellow eggs underneath nasturtium leaves and the baby caterpillars feed here - they devour the leaves in a very short space of time.
I simply remove the leaves when I see the eggs so as not to have too many of these in the garden.
I leave a few as I love to see the butterflies later on.

And then we have the snails!
During the past drought, I saw hardly any snails in the garden - they were obviously hiding in places that were cooler, but since the recent rains, they are back in the garden and having a wonderful feast.
I just hand pick them off the plants and relocate them to a part of the garden away from my veggies etc., - the frogs will keep the numbers in check as the season progresses.

Sort:  

well howdy from Texas lizziesworld! ah yes the creepy crawlers..does that include alot of spiders and do you guys have scorpions?
great photos bytheway!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79